Tags

, , , , , ,

Author: Laini Taylor | Website
Publication Date: September 27th, 2011
Publisher: Little, Brown
My Interest: Hype / Recommended
Source: Library
Age Group | Genre: YA | angels-demons, fantasy, supernatural
Series: Yes! 1st in the series.
Pages: 418

I…I don’t even know where to begin with this book. So, I’ll send you over to the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trailer before I start writing.

Are you flabbergasted too?  Right?  I know. Ridiculous. Amazing. Beautiful. Imaginative.
That’s pretty much how I sum up Daughter of Smoke and Bones. But for those who want more….

Summary

It’s the story of Karou, an art student in Prague who has bright blue hair growing out of her head–naturally. She often fills her artist books with drawings of monsters and tells elaborate stories about them to her friends. Unbeknownst to her friends though, she draws and speaks the truth. Only… Karou doesn’t know anything past that. She doesn’t know who she is, or where she comes from, or why she collects teeth for Brimstone, her beast caregiver. Then suddenly, black hand prints start to mark the doorways in which she leaves this world to enter Brimstone’s and Karou is caught in the middle of a century’s old, otherworldly war.

When a story starts like this:

Once upon a time,
an angel and a devil fell in love.
It did not end well.

You know it’s got to be good.

Review

Normally, I’m not an angel-demons/paranormal/supernatural kind of reader. I’ve juts never been interested in these stories. And I’ll admit, I picked up Daughter of Smoke and Bone weeks ago, couldn’t get past the first chapter because I was so busy with summer class, and turned it back into the library. Then a friend asked me if I had read it yet–I said no–and she asked what was wrong with me. So, for the hype, I picked up again.

I. CANNOT. BELIEVE. I. WAITED. THIS. LONG. to read this novel.
Go. Read it. Now.

The second time I picked it up, I was sucked in from the very beginning. Taylor is extremely imaginative and her storytelling powers are awe-inspiring. She has built a world that I couldn’t even ever dream of.

I’m not giving anything away with this novel because if I did, you would hate me. Besides, it’s one of those novels that I feel a retelling wouldn’t do justice. I will warn you that the first part of the book leaves the reader in a state of confusion. We don’t learn much back story or reasoning for things until well into the chapters. However, I think that Taylor uses the state of confusions as a great literary device for the story. Karou herself is very confused about her own life, her past, and reasoning for many things, and so, as we are confused, we are able to connect with her character. Don’t worry though, Taylor comes full circle with the story, and in fact, I love how she approaches the ending and the revealing of back story and plot with a huge shift.

If you aren’t a huge angels-demons fan, I promise you this isn’t anything crazy. There’s no hellfire and brimstone (just Brimstone) and it’s not cheesy or scary in anyway. There’s a little mention of sex so I’d say not so much for the younger kids, but all in all, just a fabulous story.

And that’s what’s great about it–it’s an amazing telling of a story. Something I’ve been missing in books for awhile.

One more time: Go. Read it now.
Then, come back and talk to me.

Final Thoughts:

[for ratings system, please check out my Bookshelf]

For Discussion: Have you read Daughter of Smoke and Bone? If so, what did you think? Are you as excited as I am about the second in the trilogy coming out next month?

Hopeful reading!
signature

