Tags

, , , , ,

Is a weekly feature here at The Hopeful Heroine where I give short and sweet reviews of books I’ve read. I don’t always have the time to sit down and do a full review for every book I read, but I still want to share my thoughts!

Up this week
[Each image will link you to the book’s Goodreads’ page]

Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury



"Agnes Wilkins has attracted the
attention of one of 19-th
century England's most eligible
men. When Agnes unwillingly
pockets an Egyptian artifact
during a mummy unwrapping party,
her actions set off a chain of 
events that bring out 
dangerous characters--and 
true love"

source: Goodreads synopsis

Review: I originally picked this one up because it was a featured new read at my library, AND I thought the cover was beautiful. Honestly, I’m still in love with the cover, and I did like the story too. It’s not a “teach it” or “discuss it” kind of book, but instead, one that is just a nice read. I absolutely love Ancient Egypt, mummies, and mystery stories, so Wrapped was perfect because it had all three. It also has a little espionage action going on which just added more enjoyment to the novel. The plot is nicely done, there isn’t an overt romance, and the mystery is great. I didn’t feel there was any cheese factor which can sometimes happen with mysteries. However, I did find the whole mummy unwrapping party to be interesting–even more so because in the early 1800’s mummy unwrapping parties actually happened. Agnes (love that name!) is also a really strong heroine, and without spoilers… I love what happens to her in the end.
Definitely a fun and good read, and one I recommended, especially if you like any of the genres is falls into.
Published: May 4th, 2011
Age Group | Genre: YA| mystery, historical fiction, espionage

Unraveling isobel by Eileen Cook

"Isobel's life is falling apart.
Her mom just married some guy she met
on the internet three months before
and is moving them to his sprawling,
Gothic mansion off the coast of
nowhere. Goodbye, best friend. Goodbye,
social life. Hello, icky new stepfather,
crunchy granola town, and unbelievably
good-looking, unofficially off limits
stepbrother. 

But on her first night in her new home,
Isobel starts to fear that it isn't
only her life that's unraveling--
her sanity might be giving way too. 
Because either Isobel is losing her
mind, just like her artist father 
did before her, or she's seeing 
ghosts. Either way, Isobel's fast on 
her way to being the talk of the
town for all the wrong reasons."

Source: Goodreads' synopsis

Review: This is another just read it book; however, the mystery in this one is easier to figure out. When I was a kid, I used to love ghost stories, but I wasn’t always allowed to read them for fear of scare-factor. This one doesn’t have any scary parts, and it’s a pretty clean book overall, but it’s also easy to figure out. I thought the plot wasn’t terrible, and Isobel is a strong character–it’s her mother I’m somewhat disgusted with. I’m not sure if she’s just an unbelievable character or if I was just disgusted with her because I know there are probably women out there who act like her. I just wanted her to give Isobel a break.
A fun, quick read nevertheless.
Published: January 3rd, 2012
Age Group | Genre: YA| mystery, paranormal

Hopeful Reading!

