Tags

,

That’s right… It’s time to appreciate some book bloggers!

Since I’m new to the book blogging community, I’m not sure how many of these weeks there are, but I did stumble upon this one last week and decided that I wanted to do a little bit.

And today, I swapped interviews so I’d like to introduce you to Angie from Angela’s Anxious Life!


If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m all about honesty on here so I’m going to tell you the truth and say I just “met” Angie yesterday. We got partnered up for the book blog interview swap, and I only had a short time to check out her blog. However, in that short time, I discovered that I love her blog! She’s got some great reviews, met some awesome authors, and is involved in several book groups and hobbies.

But I’ll let her tell you all about that….

When did you get started book blogging and why?

Well technically I started my blog in September 2010.  Originally it was going to be a personal blog then I decided to go ahead and give book blogging a chance.  I kept the same blog and in April 2011 started talking about books!  That is the reason my blog is named Angela’s Anxious Life.  The blog was supposed to be about my life and then I changed it but decided to just keep the name.  I sometimes wonder if the blog name confuses people!  I started blogging about books because I love to read and unfortunately people in my real life don’t.  So I found other people who love books through blogging and I find a lot of suggestions on books as well.

 Besides book blogging, what do you do? (job, school, hobbies, family, etc)  

I have all kinds of hobbies!  I love to go on hikes… I call myself a birder.  Someone who goes bird watching.  I recently went on some trips with the Audubon Society and the people who were there put my knowledge to shame.  But I am going to keep trying.  I love sports.  I am a big Denver Broncos football fan.  And a NASCAR fan.  My favorite driver is Jeff Gordon! I love to go to museums,  and botanic gardens.  I love my cats (I have two, Merry and Pippin).  I love my husband too :)
I play video games all the time, currently Mass Effect 3. I watch a lot of TV and go to the movies all the time.  I do a lot more but as you can see I have a large variety of things I enjoy.  I am always ready to try something new! 

Top 3 YA books/series and/or favorite genre to read.

Well my favorite genre to read is Young Adult.  BUT I also enjoy reading adult books as well.  So it is a mixture!
I love of course The Harry Potter series by JK Rowling.
I love the Flapper Series by Jillian Larkin.  I thought these were great and not as popular as they should be!
I also really enjoyed the Graceling Realm series by Kristin Cashore!

Favorite Non Ya Book

I’ll pick three!  I have to!
I love love the Dark Tower series by Stephen King.
I love the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris (though I don’t love True Blood anymore.  The series is a big disappointment to me now).
I also really like the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich!

Who is the character you most relate too?

Oh wow… hummm…. I never really thought of this before.  I think I relate to a few characters… I guess I just haven’t read about the “ONE” who is truly me. I think I am a mix of Stephanie Plum who is always accident prone and out to have fun.  Next I really relate to Holden from Catcher in the Rye, too many times in life have I felt just like him!  And then I suppose at one time or another we all have related to Drizzt from the Drizzt series by RA Salvatore.  An outcast.  Well that is all of them!

If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

I love love Wonder Woman.  So I always look to her for a perfect superhero!  Though I might want my superpower to be a  little more realistic.  
I wish I had the power to convince everyone to spay and neuter their pets!  I am passionate about helping animals.  There are so many homeless and people don’t even really know just how many are put down daily or each year.  I get really bothered by people who try to make money by breeding.  If they are really in it for the breed that is one thing.. but to do it to just make a profit is sad.  So please spay and neuter your pets ! OK so… enough with the sad talk!!

Favorite Candy?

Oh man!!!  I love love Watermelons from Sour Patch Kids!!  These and a can of Mountain Dew are soooo good!!  And sooo bad for your teeth.

Random book fact about you??

Well, some people might not know this but I run two large book clubs on Goodreads.  One is the Young Adult Book Club and the other is The Stephen King Fans group.

                                      

Both are super fun.  In both groups we pick a book club pick and discuss it each month.  In the Young Adult Book Club I somehow manage to even get authors to stop by and do Q&A’s with the group.  So I never interview them on my blog, I like to share it with the world and get them to stop by the YA Book Club so we can all ask them questions.  On September 15th Courtney Summers is stopping by for a Q&A.. she is the author of our pick this month Cracked Up to Be!!

Do you have any unique weekly features on your blog?

Honestly, I don’t.  I do some meme’s and have found some really cool ones lately.  One I have really enjoyed is Favorite Fictional Characters Wednesdays though it’s not hosted by me.

And that, friends, is Angie!
You can find out more about her on her about me page, so
definitely make sure to check out her blog and say hi today!

Thanks so much for “hanging out” with me  Angie!

ps….if you’re dying to know just a little bit more about me, such as where my doodles came from, check out my interview on Angie’s blog!

