Tags

, , , , , ,

Here’s a few book blogger confessions for you–sometimes I don’t finish books. Sometimes I don’t even make it to page 50 (my typical standard before I’m chucking a book back into the library drop box.) Most of the time, those are the books where I end up utilizing the three day grace period for overdue books because I keep telling myself I WILL finish reading them before they are due.

That usually doesn’t happen though. Take Daughter of Smoke and Bone for instance. The first time I checked it out, I returned it to the library after only getting about 11 pages in. But after a recommendation and a new reading, I can’t stop telling others about it!

And so, another new column on the old blog is born.

Perhaps this is just another scheme to avoid my homework and house cleaning.
Perhaps this is just another chance to gush about books.
Or, perhaps this is just another way to plug books and to get you to read.

I prefer the final reason because I truly do believe in the power of story, and I  know there is a book for everyone. So even if it may not the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it won’t be the book that makes you become a reader.

Welcome to
notbread*
may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Dreamless by Josephine Angelini.
Published: May 29, 2012
Publisher: Harper Teen
Age Group / Genre: YA | Greek Myth, fantasy, romance

Why I picked it up: I actually had this one in my library queue before it was even published because I read the first in the series, Starcrossed, thought it was ok, and wanted to move forward in the story.
Plus, I thought the covers were beautiful and interesting, and any book about Greek mythology gets a chance from me.

How far I got: The end of Chapter 1, and that’s kind of pushing it because really, I skimmed the last few pages just to say I finished Chapter 1.

The story so far: We meet back up with Helen and experience several of her trips to the underworld all of which find her trapped and having to seriously injure herself in order to wake up in the real world. There’s also a couple of visits to the Delos’ family home and lots of tension between Helen and Lucas because of the whole “cousin” thing from Starcrossed.

Why I put it in the drop box: Even though the story starts off seven days after the plot in Starcrossed, it’s been a minute or two since I read it, so I was a little confused as the Dreamless storyline started.  I had forgotten how many characters there were and names were being thrown around like crazy in Chapter 1. I couldn’t remember who had what kind of Scion (demi-god) power, and what the heck Helen was supposed to be doing. Then there was the whole sexual tension between Helen and Lucas. We, as readers, find out in the first novel that they really aren’t related but that information is never shared with the teens. So, all the talk of incest and ‘flirting with your cousin’ was just kind of annoying. I know that the two of them being in the dark about the truth is integral in the storyline, but because I know the info, I just find their tension and need to stay away from each other ridiculous.

Will I pick it back up?: Eh…maybe if I’m in dire need of a read and every other YA book in my library is checked out.

Have you read Starcrossed or Dreamless?  What is your take on the series so far? Do you think I’ll like the rest of the story if I can make it past Chapter 1?

