Tags

, , , , , ,

Is a weekly feature here at The Hopeful Heroine where I give short and sweet reviews of books I’ve read. I don’t always have the time to sit down and do a full review for every book I read, but I still want to share my thoughts!

Up this week
[Each image will link you to the book’s Goodreads’ page]

The GIver by Lois Lowry



"Jonas' world is perfect. Everything is 
under control. There is no war or fear 
or pain. There are no choices. Every
person is assigned a role in the 
Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he
is singled out to receive special 
training from The Giver. The Giver
alone holds the memories of the true 
pain and pleasure in life. Now, it's 
time for Jonas to receive truth. There
is no turning back. "

source: Goodreads synopsis

Review: What can I say? READ. THIS. I picked up The Giver last week for my middle grade curriculum class, but I first read it when I was in sixth or seventh grade. I’m not sure if it was at the time, but since I’ve grown up, this book has been a frequently challenged book on the banned books list. I don’t want to give any spoilers here…  but it’s set in a dystopian society which Lowry has perfectly created. Her world building here is phenomenal, and she asks readers to use their minds until the very end of the story. How the Community handles life and death, though, is often what sparks controversy. However, from a teacher’s/librarian’s perspective, I think this is a book that kids should read because it holds the opportunity for deep discussion. Plus, the ending is one of those endings where it could go one way or another. Definitely a book for those who like dystopia as well as someone looking to be challenged to think.
Published: 1993
Age Group | Genre: YA | Dystopian

Frindle by Andrew Clements

"Is Nick Allen a troublemaker? He really
just likes to liven up things at school
--and he's always had plenty of great 
ideas. When Nick learns some interesting
information about how words are created,
suddenly he's got the inspiration for 
his best plan ever...the frindle. 
Who says a pen has to be called a pen?
Why not call it a frindle? Things begin 
innocently enough as Nick gets his 
friends to say the new word. Then other 
people in town start saying frindle. 
Soon the school is in an uproar, and
Nick has become a local hero. His 
teacher wants Nick to put an end to all 
this nonsense, but the funny thing is 
frindle doesn't belong to Nick anymore.
The new word is spreading across the 
country, and there's nothing Nick can 
do to stop it."
Source: Goodreads' synopsis

Review: I also read this book for my middle grade class this week, and I just love it. I remember reading it myself when I was in about fifth grade, and it’s got everything an adolescent reader needs–humor, independence, creativity, and even a little defiance.  Honestly, the synopsis says most everything that needs to be said about this chapter book. Clements captures middle grade kids perfectly, and he writes with a humor they will understand. It’s a great book for reluctant readers–especially boys– and for any kid looking to get a laugh.
Published: February 1st, 1998
Age Group | Genre: CL/MG | realism, humor

Hopeful Reading!

