Tags

, , ,

Oh goodness. Despite being an avid reader, vocabulary has never been my strong point. I know how to use words in a sentence, don’t get me wrong, and I can always tell you what they mean in context, but the minute you ask me to define a word, I’m done for.

But what would reading be without words and their meanings?  Guess I’ll give the old vocab list a shot today….
And the funny thing is, I don’t think I ever used/read this word before in my life until last week. I had to “define” it for my teaching test, then I came home and started reading and BAM! there is was.

{This is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee’s View}

This Week’s Question…

What is the BIGGEST word you’ve seen used in a book lately – that made you stop and look it up? Might as well leave the definition & book too.

  1. a·mel·io·rate [uh-meel-yuh-reyt]

    verb (used with object), verb (used without object),
    a·mel·io·rat·ed, a·mel·io·rat·ing.

    to make or become better, more bearable, or more satisfactory; improve; meliorate.
  2. “As a writer, it is important to have someone who can help ameliorate your book’s draft.”
  3. I originally read this word on my Test of Academic Proficiency test–reading section– then found it later that afternoon in my psych book, Adolescence by Steinburg. (And yes, I’m that person who is actually reading every word in my school book.)
  4. As a bonus, can you define this word: neorxnawange
    Who knew that signing up to teach English meant I actually had to learn it’s history? As in, translating old English. Part of me hates it, and part of me (the nerd part) loves it.

What sort of words have YOU been finding lately?

PSST…..if you’d like to be a part of the Banned Book Week/Teen Read Week goings on here at The Hopeful Heroine, there’s still time!! Check out my post here.

If you’d like to follow me…

You can follow by email, RSS feed, (both of which are buttons in my upper right hand column) or you can find me on Twitter @hopefulheroine

Hopeful reading everyone!

