Tags

, , , , ,

Today I’m remembering what it was like to be a kid.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted 
by The Broke and the Bookish. They like lists over
there, and what's more fun than lists about books?

Up for discussion this week is….

Top Ten “Older” Books You Don’t Want People To Forget About

Oh… I could go on and on with this list: Alice in Wonderland / Through the Looking Glass, The Bailey School Kids, Sideways Stories from Wayside School, The Giver Series, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Secret Garden but instead of trying to weasel my list up past ten again, I’ll just get on with it…

1. The Little Prince By Antoine de Saint-Exupery This is one of my mother’s favorite novels, and I have but one word to say about it: beautiful. I think what I enjoy most about it is that it is one of those novels that causes readers to think deeply.

2. Nancy Drew Mysteries by Carolyn Keene If you haven’t noticed the giant sleuth glass on cartoon me’s Tshirt, then you wouldn’t know how much I love Nancy Drew. I spent one summer, I think between fourth and fifth grade, reading the original 56 stories. Would you be jealous if I told you I have first editions on my book shelf? As in, before the stories were rewritten due to sensitive material.

3. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. I was Stargirl in high school. Seriously. I was the weird, different girl minus the rat in my backpack. But only because my mom said no. However, the license plate for my first car read STRGRL 5. And it turns out this happened to be my hubs favorite book, too.

4. Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild Yes. I did love this book way before You’ve Got Mail came out. It’s an orphan tale, and perhaps that’s why I like it. There’s something about orphan stories that get me every time. They make for perfect, have-to-love-them heroes.

5. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle I can’t help but fill my list with beautiful, thought provoking books this week. A Wrinkle in Time is really high on my all-time favorites list. It was one my mother gave to me as a child, and it’s one that I continue to pull wisdom from every time I read it. It’s simply a classic.

6. The Babysitters Club by Ann M. Martin / Sweet Valley Twins by Francine Pascal Junior High was brutal for me, and honestly, these were two series that got me through it. Kristy, Mary Ann, Claudia, Stacey, Elizabeth, and Jessica were my constant of friends.

7. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster.This is one of those novels that I feel made way for fantasy. I mean, what kid wouldn’t want a watch dog who literally has a clock in him! If you’ve got a bored kid in your life… this is definitely the book for him or her. They’ll learn that adventure is everywhere they make it.

8. A Time of Angels by Karen Hesse. Another beautiful and compelling read. The novel is set amidst WWI and the influenza epidemic. I was moved by this book around third grade, and though I haven’t read it since, I have never forgotten it. Bring tissues.

9. The Secret of Platform 13 by Eva Ibbotson Middle school literature holds so many gems in the fantasy world, and I honestly cannot get enough of them. This is another one of those classics that I feel paved the way for other worlds children can escape too…perhaps even platform 9 and 3/4??

10. Any novels by Sarah Dessen or Judy Blume Books like The Truth About Forever and Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret changed my school years. In all of the imaginative genres today–fantasy, paranormal, dystopian–realism, especially contemporary realism, will always be worth the read because when you put a book like one of these into a school girl’s hands… she knows she’s not alone.

Book Talk: Have you read any of these books? Which one’s would you consider classics and why? What’s your top ten books to remember?

Hopeful reading everyone!

signature

