Tags

, ,

Today ‘s feature Banned Book Lover is another blogger I admire, Amelia over at The Authoress. She has some great thoughts for today, especially on  a book I’ve never picked up. Make sure to stop by her blog and say hi!

Whenever the topic of banned books comes up, I tend to flinch and recoil and bite in shame.  For some odd reason, I consider people who read banned books to be total BA’s, mostly because I was never the ten-year-old bookworm who devised any sinister (but certifiably genius) plans to sneak a banned book into my room.  My only experiences with banned books have been accidental, and most of the time I found out only after the fact that the book I just finished reading is considered a banned book somewhere.  Such is the case with The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Lord of the Flies by William Golding, Animal Farm by George Orwell, The Chocolate War by Robert Cormier, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

 Five of those six titles I had to read for school and quite honestly, I wasn’t crazy about any of them.  (Pause while I again recoil in shame.)  Out of all of them, though, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood was the most intriguing.  Though none of my friends (who were also required to read the book) could make themselves finish it, I found it strangely addicting because of the chaotic and sinister plot.  And sure, it had some stuff in it that made me blush a little, or shift in discomfort, but I always thought banning books was so silly, not to mention a massive waste of time.  I figured that what children read should be up to the decision of their parents, instead of a system that can’t even provide enough textbooks to classes because they’re so overwhelmed, let alone be responsible for something that should be up to the parents.

Book talk: Have you read The Handmaid’s Tale? In school? On your own? What are your thoughts? Worth the ban or not?

Hopeful reading!

