Tags

, , , , , ,

Author: Madeleine L’Engle
Published: Originally, 1962
Publisher:Yearling
Age group | Genre: MG | Fantasy
Pages: 206

If you noticed in my last post, my copy of A Wrinkle In Time happens to be a little beat up. Part of that reason is because I think I took it from my mom’s old stash of books, but there’s a giant sticker proclaiming my ownership inside the cover *possibly* covering up her signature, so it’s not a brand new book. The other reason is I’ve read this book every year since I practically learned to read.

Summary

It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger.
“Wild nights are my glory,” the unearthly stranger told them. ‘I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me be on my way. Speaking of way, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract.’
Meg’s father had been experimenting with this fifth dimension of time travel when he mysteriously disappeared. Now the time has come for Meg, her friend Calvin, and Charles Wallace to rescue him. But can they outwit the forces of evil they will encounter on their heart-stopping journey through space?”

source – Goodreads

Why It’s Been Banned

Banning of A Wrinkle in Time has been on both sides of the spectrum. Some dislike it because it’s “too Christian” while others who read it say it’s not Christian enough. Several religious groups have pursued the ban because they believe it undermines Christian belief, especially in the part of the book where Christ is held in the same regard as philosophers and scientists. Some also think that it promotes witchcraft and the occult through the use of crystal balls. However, others dislike it because it uses too many biblical references.

My Thoughts

This is another beautifully written fantasy novel that I feel needs to be in the classroom, at least on a library cart so students can pick it up. I read this novel when I was a child again per my mother’s recommendation and at the time thought nothing of it except that I was traveling through time and meeting new friends. There’s just something about A Wrinkle in Time that’s classic–minus, of course, the fact that this is it’s 50th anniversary year. I normally do not enjoy science, but I thoroughly enjoy time traveling. And yes, I’ve spent my years looking for the tesseract. I often figured it was somewhere near the wardrobe. Meg herself is simply curious and a brave heroine, and she was someone I looked up too. And Charles Wallace is exceptional. A Wrinkle in Time is a moving novel because at the heart of it all, it teaches readers about love.

If you like A Wrinkle in Time you might like….

  • The Time Quartet by Madeleine L’Engle: A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, Many Waters

      

  • An Acceptable Time by Madeleine L’Engle

  

  •  Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

Book Talk: Where do you stand with A Wrinkle in Time ban? Do you think it’s tame enough for a middle school classroom or too religious?  Have you read the rest of the series?  Just as good or better? Should they be banned?

Hopeful reading!

