Tags

, , , ,

Time to talk about inspiration.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted 
by The Broke and the Bookish. They like lists over
there, and what's more fun than lists about books?

Up for discussion this week is….

REWIND: pick a past topic that we’ve done that you missed or just want round 2 of!
Top Ten Favorite Heroines

I only felt it appropriate that I finally divulge all those kick-butt awesome literary ladies who inspired my blog.

1. Elizabeth Bennett from Pride and Prejudice
Not only is Lizzy classic, but she doesn’t fall all over the the first man who comes her way. She’s strong, independent, and intelligent. A great heroine to admire.

2. Nancy Drew
My mother introduced me to this super sleuth, and since I was a tween, I’ve never wanted to be anyone else. I still constantly peek around corners for the bad guys, and keep an eye out in dark, drafty hallways. I’m also still waiting for my blue convertible roadster.  *wink*

3. Lucy Pevensie from The Chronicles of Narnia
Faithful. Courageous. Unyielding belief.  What more do little girls need to look up too?

But as for Lucy, she was always gay and golden-haired, and all princes in those parts desired her to be their Queen, and her own people called her Queen Lucy the Valiant.

4. & 5. Hermione Granger and Luna Lovegood from Harry Potter
Harry isn’t just a series for boys–in fact, there are some gems by way of female characers. When I first fell into the magical world, I connected with Hermione. She was nerdy and smart. Two things that I was scared to show for fear of showing up the boys. She encouraged me. But by book four, I was Luna. She was different and never once afraid to show it. A friend of mine put it best when she said, “Hermione my head. Luna my Heart.”

6. Alice from Alice in Wonderland
My imagination wouldn’t be what it is without Alice. She was a curious heroine and never even questioned the new world she landed in. To understand we’re all a little bit mad–that is to really see life.

7. Jo March from Little WomenOh, Jo. I have a soft spot in my heart for Jo because when I read Little Women, I related to her. She is a writer trying to defy all odds of the time and the codes of womanhood to pursue her passion. She is spirited, funny, and steadfast. She is beautiful.

8. Matilda
I admit it. I think I really fell in love with Matilda when I saw the movie. But how could I not? She was just so darn cute! Beyond that, Matilda is remarkable. She’s so ridiculously smart, a book lover, and the teacher’s pet. All characteristics I hope my daughters have some day.

9. Scout Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird
When I first met Scout, I wasn’t sure what to think of her. But as she grows in the novel, my heart grows for her. Scout becomes the picture of compassion as she teaches readers about a quality not easily, or happily, earned but instead one that comes with life experiences and bumps in the road.

10. Mary Lennox from The Secret Garden
Even after dealing with the worst of things and being locked away in a scary, boring mansion, Mary still believes in magic. She seeks adventure and finds beauty, and understands that enchantment lives in the everyday.

Book Talk: Have you read any of these books? Do you relate to any of these heroines? Have they inspired you over the years? What other literary ladies would you have included?

Hopeful reading everyone!

signature

