Tags

, , ,

Time for another installment of

“Reasons Why I Love YA/MG in Terribly Drawn Pictures That Make You Smile”

Reason #3

I contracted Peter Pan Syndrome at a young age

I’ll admit it. I love being a kid.Ā  And as a twenty-something, I still don’t want to grow up. In fact, I quit my job this year to go back to school so I wouldn’t have to grow up.

Basically what I’m telling you is that I think being a youth librarian/teacher/writer will allow me to never have to actually act my age. Ok. Maybe sometimes I’ll have to act my age, but I’m really going to pretend that I won’t have too.

I love MG/YA because I love connecting with protagonists. Yes, I do have to pay bills, buy my won groceries, work for a living, and probably take care of some tiny humans someday, but when I immerse myself in this genre, I can step away from all of that and relive the teens years I didn’t have (I HATED my jr. high/high school years) and I get to laugh and enjoy connecting to and remembering the good moments from my youth.

I just love the moments of freedom that MG/YA give me. Escape. No wondering about if I’ll actually be able to pay that next bill, or crazy other serious grow-up stuff.
For the time span of a few hundred pages, I’m worry free.

Here’s reason #1 and #2 if you’re just tuning in.

ps… I totally credit Anna at Anna Reads as the inspiration for my series. I love her series about things in books she loves and the fact that her list is in doodles. Though, her people doodles are so much better than mine. I should take lessons from her.

Book Talk :

Do you feel like a kid again with you read MG/YA or are you still your grown up self in the pages? If you could be stuck at any one age for the rest of your life, what age would you choose?

Hopeful reading!

