Tags

, ,

My friend J is back with some of her thoughts on Teen Read Week!  And… I reminisce a little bit too.

1. What pulled you into reading as a teen?

I was an avid reader from a very young age. I can’t tell you what “pulled me in as a teen” because I was already in.  I think I really enjoyed the fantasy of it all…being able to imagine other lives, worlds, people, etc. My mom has always been an avid reader, so I’m sure seeing her nose in a book all the time probably played a big role as well.

2. What was your favorite book or author during those years?

I was HOOKED on The Baby-sitters Club series as a kid! I began reading them maybe around 10 and read them for several years. I had all the books…even the super special editions. However, after just looking up the series on Wikipedia, I have to say I have not read them all. I had no clue they were still being written up through 1999!! Wowzers! Anyway, I remember having conversations with a friend on how we should start up our own baby-sitters club.

That probably doesn’t help too much since I stopped reading them right after becoming a true teen.  I stopped reading so frequently once I was in high school…maybe even started in 8th grade. I became a bit more social (which isn’t saying much, haha!) and was extremely involved in a lot of extracurricular activities/clubs/sports. I didn’t read much outside of what was required of me for classes.

-source: Scholastic.com

(After reading J’s answer to this question… I have to admit to you that I LOVED the Baby-sittter’s club as well. In fact, does anyone remember the movie they made?!? I was obsessed with it.  I’m sure you’ll remember Logan and Jackie…)

-source: IMDB

(Ok… Movie party at my house. We’ll have popcorn, watch The Babysitter’s Club circa 1995, laugh about the cute boys, and talk about who we related to in the series. Who’s in?!?)

3.  If you woke up to a post-apocalyptic world, and it was mandated that you
could only own one book for yourself for the rest of your life, what book would
it be and why?

I’m going to have to go with Catching Fire. Especially in a post-apocalyptic world, I think I would find in the story a lot of hope and strength to carry on…to fight the good fight…endure the horrors around me…keep looking for a way to survive. And that others are there who have your back…even if you can’t see it just yet. Plus the fact that Katniss is a strong female character without getting all mushy on a crush is also refreshing. She fights for love…but not the romantic love. And although there is a hint of romance-y love from the males in the book, it’s not the focus. Her focus is on her love for her sister and mankind in general. She has to remain strong and focused and does not let distractions get in her way. I’m getting a little bit of The Hunger Games in here now…so maybe I would just choose to have a book that includes 3-in-1.

Book talk: Was there any one thing that pulled you into reading as a teen? Perhaps you were already there? Or, did you die off a little in your reading at that age?

Don’t forget to enter my GIVEAWAY this week!

Hopeful reading!

