Tags

,

My teen years were terrible, and it was during those years that I turned to books and really cemented my love of reading.  Here’s another goofy interview of myself.

1. What pulled you into reading as a teen?

I sort of mentioned earlier this week that I had a great school library and librarian, I always found good books to read, and I got involved with a book club. But honestly what pulled me into reading during my teen years was the fact that I felt like a total outsider. I was bullied a lot in middle school, and it didn’t really stop in high school. I was just the kid who got picked on. I was different. Individual. Independent. Weird to some. And so, books became my constant of friends. I was able to escape my reality and fall into great stories. I was able to relate to characters and understand that I wasn’t the only one out there.
And that’s why I think Teen Read Week is so important. It’s a chance to devote an entire week to teen books, and to open up genres, and stories, and crazy worlds to readers and more importantly, non-readers alike,

2. What was your favorite book or author during those years?

Hands down Sarah Dessen. I first read The Truth About Forever in book club and wow.  Besides feeling like Macy–minus the whole dead dad thing–I was totally in love with Wes.  It’s still my go-to book when I have nothing else in my stack or when I just need a smile.  After I devoured this novel, I kept falling more in love with Dessen’s writing. I still pick up her books, and for the last couple of summers, I always do a reread of them. And I feel like I married a real-life Wes.

3.  If you woke up to a post-apocalyptic world, and it was mandated that you
could only own one book for yourself for the rest of your life, what book would
it be and why?

I have no idea why I came up with this question because I can’t even answer it without cheating. I would want to own a multiple-books-in-one volume of The Chronicles of Narnia so technically it would be one book. But if I had to choose one of the seven, I’d go with The Last Battle. I can pull so much from these books, and every reading is different. My imagination is so vivid when I’m immersed in them, and the lit nerd in me could probably analyze them for years. I’d never be bored.

Book talk: What’s the one book you would take with you any and everywhere?

Don’t forget to check out my GIVEAWAY this week! And old read…but a free book!

AND if you’re a twitter fiend, YALSA will be hosting a Tweet-a-thon all day to celebrate Teen Read Week. Join the discussion with #TRW12 and tweet your recommendations, thoughts, and ideas on YA lit.

Hopeful reading!

