Tags

,

I’m pretty excited to have Amelia from The Authoress as a guest again!

1. What pulled you into reading as a teen?

I didn’t start reading “hardcore” until I was in middle school, when I was pulled out of the crappy public school system and taught at home for three years (I do not recommend this as a ploy to get your kids to read more – just make them hang out at the library and maybe they’ll catch on). With such a diminished social life, I turned to an old habit of mine: reading. It helped when I discovered that I liked bringing stories to life, and I might have a talent at doing so. It also helped that I found Sarah Dessen (Just Listen) and Christopher Paolini (Eragon). Once I got started, I just never stopped.

2. What was your favorite book or author during those years?

Wow, every reader’s dreaded question. How to limit down all the fantastic books to just one incredible one. I think the one constant favorite throughout my teen years was the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, and I realize that that encompasses many books, but it is a single story, right? I think my favorite author, though, was Sarah Dessen, because it was with her books that I started thinking that maybe I could write stories like hers, too. (It was Christopher Paolini, however, that really got me to write my first “novel”.)

3.  If you woke up to a post-apocalyptic world, and it was mandated that you
could only own one book for yourself for the rest of your life, what book would
it be and why?

This is such a popular question! And surprisingly, I have the same answer every time. It would definitely be Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers because it has everything in it: history, political intrigue, girl assassins, epic romance, thrilling danger, etc. It also has length, which is important, too. I wouldn’t think of bringing some wimpy, two hundred and fifty page book with me for the rest of my life.

Thanks Amelia for your awesome thoughts!!

Book talk: How about the rest of you…what was your favorite book or author during your teen years?!?

Don’t forget to enter my  GIVEAWAY  this week!  Today is your last chance!

Hopeful reading!

