Tags

, , , , , , ,

What does it mean to have a USUAL genre that you read? I’ve said before that I’m not a picky reader, and it’s true.  I read so many different types of books…pretty much because I just love books. However, if I had to pick a usual genre, I’d go with those types of books that brought me into reading: Contemporary Realism and Fantasy.  I can always pick up one of those genres and be happy.
So…if I had to step out of those genres and pick some good reads? Wow…that’s a tough one.

{This is a weekly meme hosted by Alison Can Read and Parajunkee’s View}

This Week’s Question…

When you step out of your USUAL genre what do you like to read? Best books in that genre?

          

Mystery, Heist, and Spy stories. Hands down. Ok..to be honest… this genre is probably my #1 pick to read EVER, but they aren’t usual stories, so, they’re worth stepping into.

  1. Of course I’m going to pick Nancy Drew because come on…she’s great. She introduced me to the world of mystery and my life as a secret detective
  2. My new favorite in the world of heist stories is Ally Carter’s Heist Society series. Katrine Bishop is everything I want to be as a thief–one with a good conscious! I also love how this series is pretty much Ocean’s Eleven for teens.
  3. Um…yes, I did have a secret notebook when I was a kid, but I never let it out of my sight! Let’s just say I learned a few things from Harriet the Spy.

Book Talk: What about you? What’s the typical genre you pick up for a read? Then what do you pick up when you want to step out of those reads??

If you’d like to follow me…

You can follow by email, RSS feed, (both of which are buttons in my upper right hand column) or you can find me on Twitter @hopefulheroine

Hopeful reading everyone!

