Tags

, , , , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that  I truly do believe in the power of story, and I  know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

Jane Austin is my home girl.I love her stories so much that I often pick up retellings or tributes just to get a different spin on the novel. Sometimes I love them, such as the case with Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. (It was hilarious, ok?!?) Other times… not so much.

Welcome to today’s edition of
notbread*
may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund
Published: June 12, 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Age Group / Genre: YA | sci-fi, dystopian, romance, Austen retellings

Why I picked it up:  1. I loved the cover. I mean, I would live in the stars if I could.  I thought this cover was just gorgeous, and if the story had something to do with space, I was interested. 2. Jamie’s review at the Perpetual Page Turner made me think “I HAVE TO PICK THIS UP.” Pretty much on the basis that I had no idea it was Austen inspire until I read her thoughts.

How far I got: A little bit into Chapter 3 – page 33

The story so far: There’s this girl named Elliot who, from what I understand, is on the better side of the tracks. Then there’s her friend Kai, who doesn’t live where the grass is green. They used to write letters when they were kids because they were secret friends, but now I’m not so sure where Kai is. Elliot does some sort of farm work…maybe?…and there’s all sorts of weird groups of people.

Why I put it in the drop box: If you can’t tell by my summary, I was so confused. At first I thought Elliot was a boy, but nope…guess it makes sense…Anne Elliot from Persuasion and all… Seriously though. There is this whole break down of Post, and Luddites, and Reduced people, and some sort of weird plague or destruction or post-apocalyptic thing that happened to make people split off into different groups, one of which (the Reduced) is mute and supposedly dumb. I probably tried reading this at the wrong time of the year since I just finished with my Midterms, but my brain could not handle the crazy start.

Will I pick it back up?: I think so. Maybe in the summer when I don’t have to think as much. I’m interested to see where Peterfreund would go with the Persuasion aspect of the story, and I do enjoy a sci-fi every now and then. I suppose if I can read Jane Austen and Zombies, I should really give this one a go.

Have you read For Darkness Shows the Stars? Or do you stay away from anything that isn’t pure Austen? If you’ve read it, what do you think about it? Does it get less confusing anytime soon?

