Tags

, , , ,

Scary stories and other weird wanderings….

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted 
by The Broke and the Bookish. They like lists over
there, and what's more fun than lists about books?

Up for discussion this week is….

Top Ten Books To Get In The Halloween Spirit

When I was in junior high, I had an affinity for horror stories. I was in love with R.L Stine, watched Are You Afraid of the Dark everyday, and then I cocooned myself in my bedsheets so the vampires behind my bed wouldn’t attack me.

I’m still a scared-y cat, but for some reason, I torture myself with horror reads.
Here’s some good ones to get you in the Halloween spirit.

1. Anything by R. L. Stine
My mom sort of banned me from Goosebumps when I was a kid. As Christians and believers in good, we know the opposite exists, so for my mom it was a matter of faith in the reading. But… being the “rebellious” tweenager I was, I still snuck in the reads and it’s probably why I’m still scared of the dark

2. And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie
I remember this read from high school, and it is one of my FAVORITE mystery/murder stories ever.

3. Ten by Gretchen McNeil
And so on that note…when I discovered this YA retelling of Christie’s novel, I HAD to pick it up. I’m currently about 50 pages in, and I am loving it.

4. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
GAH! I just finished this novel yesterday, and I’m bursting at the seams to share it with you. Crazy. Ghostly. Creepy. Just read it.

5. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Classic. Need I say more?

6. Dracula by Bram Stoker
I prefer my vampires to be non-sparkly

7. Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Such a super fun read for this season, and a great crossover movie!

8.  Gilda Joyce: The Bones of the Holy by Jennifer Allison
Bridal Ghosts–the creepiest of all! Yet, not too scary for a great middle grade read.

9. Edgar Allen Poe’s Short Stories and Poems
“The Tell-Tale Heart,” “The Raven,” “The Black Cat,” and  “The Fall of the House of Usher” are perfect to curl up with on a stormy, Halloween night. Or if you just want to scare your kids.

10. It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown!
by Charles Schulz
So maybe not a creepy read… but a Halloween tradition in my house nonetheless!

Book Talk: What’s your reading list like around Halloween? Do you break out of your shell to read some creepy, scary, horror stories? Or would those reads make you jump out of your shell?

Hopeful reading everyone!

signature

