Tags

, , , ,

Just a list of some awesome literary ladies….

Top Ten Tuesday is an original weekly meme hosted 
by The Broke and the Bookish. They like lists over
there, and what's more fun than lists about books?

Up for discussion this week is….

Top Ten Favorite Kick-Butt Heroines

For my rewind choice a couple of weeks ago, I chose to talk about the heroines who inspire me as a reader. I even deemed them kick-butt. So when this week’s topic came up, I thought perhaps I had already divulged my list. But then I started thinking about what a kick-butt heroine is really like, and I honestly think it’s different for every reader. For me, those first ten literary ladies definitely make the cut. They’re intelligent, loving, believe in magic, strong, and independent. But for me, what’s most important in a kick-butt heroine is that she isn’t afraid to be herself even if she’s alone in the world, stands-up for her beliefs, and teaches me something that makes me a better person.

So you won’t find Bella anywhere near this list.

However, here are ten more literary heroines (in no particular order except maybe the best for last) who I won’t mind passing on to young girls looking for a role model.

PS…Sometimes I do think of a kick-butt heroine in the literal way. I mean, how cool would it be to (not kill someone…) but to just kick someone’s butt a little bit?!?

Tris Prior, Divergent
Cassia, Matched
Katniss Everdeen, The Hunger Games

Leslie Burke, Bridge to Terabithia
Katarina Bishop, Heist Society
Theodosia, Theodosia & The Serpents of Chaos
Harriet M. Welsch, Harriet the Spy
Princess Elizabeth, Paper Bag Princess

Meg Murry, A Wrinkle in Time
Anne Frank, Diary of a Young Girl

Book Talk: What defines a kick-butt heroine for you?  Who would make your list?

Hopeful reading everyone!

signature

