Tags

, , ,

As a reader, I’d like to think I’m naturally curious.

Or perhaps my curiosity could be influenced by my childhood obsession with Nancy Drew, and now I just constantly question things.

I mean, I am a secret detective after all. Which isn’t really all that secret, I guess, since I’ve outed myself to you.

But I digress. Back to my reading curiosity.

Do you ever find yourself bogged down by a book, snagged by shelves, or bound by the blogging world all because you have a question that you can’t seem to get out of your head or find the answer too?

I do. All. The. Time. Usually it has something to do with the book I’m reading, or the last book I just read, or even the book before that.
Sometimes it has to do with the book world in general, or why a cover looks this way or that, or how in the world did she pick him when I just KNEW she was going to choose the other guy.

If you can’t tell… my mind wonders (and wanders) a lot.
With that, Wednesday Wonderings is born.

The fun part about this new series (besides a mustached Captain Nosy, of course) is that it requires YOUR participation.
Let’s talk. And by talk, I mean SERIOUSLY talk. I’m ready to get deep and dirty with the book world. Let’s uproot trends and write our own endings.
Metaphorically of course.

Today I’m posing a question about the book blogging community. I’m fairly new to the community seeing as how I’ve only been doing this three months. I will admit that when I started, I was excited at the possibility of someday getting advanced reader copies of books. I honestly never thought it would be happening already.

Needless to say, having the opportunity to read a few ARC’s and to be contacted by a few publishers and authors has been exciting. It makes me feel as if my blog and my reviews actually matter. But my excitement often wanes when I’m denied a request to read. I joined NetGalley a few weeks ago in the hopes that I might have more opportunity to read ARCs, and in fact, my husband got me an eReaderso I actually would be able to accept digital requests.

But in the last couple of weeks, I have been denied several books, and I’m not sure how to take it. Obviously not too hard because I’ve got a stack of readsย  to get through, but my mind is full of questions. Is it because I’m a new blogger? Is it because my writing/blog isn’t good enough? Do I not have enough comments? Do I not have enough followers? Am I not promoting my outreach very well? Am I not social media literate? Am I not good enough for the big publishing houses? Do I not publish enough reviews during the week?

Part of me is very sad because I’ve only requested books I would seriously like to read. I didn’t go request happy or anything. And since I’m such a lover a books, I guess I just find it hard to be denied the chance to read a book when my only thought behind the request is to enjoy a read, do the book justice, and promote it like crazy.

With those thoughts posed….my Wednesday Wondering for you this week is (should this even happen to you or perhaps if it did happen to you in your early blogging days,)

