Tags

, ,

I’m a book-movie sort of person.

By that, I mean I usually like the movie version of a book…not better, not as a replacement. I just like it.

I often go into book-movies looking at them as a separate entity because I know the director, no matter how hard he/she tries, is not going to do the story I have created and imagined in my head justice.

But I still love to see how someone else has envisioned a story. The husband took me to The Hobbit today, and after seeing it and realizing I have to wait two more years for the entire trilogy to be complete, I thought of another blog topic.

Books to Screen

Come on now… after writing movie reviews for my University’s paper, and looking forward to 2013 “The Year of the YA book movie phenomenon” (as I’ve dubbed it) this new column series was bound to happen. (I’m going with screen because every once I awhile there are some good TV shows/mini series that come from books too, and I might just write about them.)

Up today for discussion The Hobbit

```````````````````````

Story Summary: In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.
Written for J.R.R. Tolkien’s own children, The Hobbit met with instant critical acclaim when it was first published in 1937. Now recognized as a timeless classic, this introduction to the hobbit Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf, Gollum, and the spectacular world of Middle-earth recounts of the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent.

source: Goodreads

The Hobbit | Book Over the past couple of weeks, I picked up The Hobbit as a reread because I wanted to familiarize myself with the details again. For me, it was always one of those stories that has stuck with me. I first picked it up in junior high and immediately fell in love. I have been into adventure stories since I was young and boy was The Hobbit an adventure! Not only that, but it was an unexpected one. Bilbo Baggins isn’t the typical adventurous, daring soul. He is perfectly content to sit in his arm chair in front of the fire, reading a good book and eating a delicious meal. So when adventure finds him, it is something new. But it is something that changes his life for the better. I think I enjoy this story so much because, ultimately, I relate to Bilbo. I like adventure–in my storybooks, not so much when it happens to me. But through the years, adventure has found me, and I have learned to change with it and enjoy it. No matter what sort of adaptations come out for The Hobbit, it will continue to be a book I pick up every so often so I can escape into Middle Earth and dragon hunting myself.

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey | Movie Oh. My. Gosh. have I been excited for this movie. Honestly, I think I’ve been looking forward to it since I was in high school and the LOTR movies came out. However, when I first found out the The Hobbit was being made into three movies and that this release was only part 1, I was very discouraged. I’m sort of over sequels and trilogies right now, and the book is fairly short so I could see it easily being made into one movie. Especially a movie of Peter Jackson’s caliber. BUT, after watching the movie today, I am much more excited about the trilogy aspect because Jackson is nailing every detail. Granted, he pulled from Tolkien’s footnotes and added in some minor plotlines/scenes that do not particularly happen in the book…and my feeling is that he has done so to flesh out eat movie individually so it can partly stand on it’s own. I don’t mind that he has taken liberties because this is an adaptation and it’s his prerogative. For me, the liberties did not hinder the original story because Jackson does a really good job of picking up the details of the story. Shouldn’t this trilogy be a book lovers dream anyway? Taking a 300-some page novel and dragging it out for hours so every. last. book scene. comes to life on the screen?
We’ll see—there are two movies left after all.Teal bubble-001

Final Verdict: Your inner book nerd / Middle Earth fan will be happy; however, you’ll wish you didn’t have to wait so long.

Another View: If you want another opinion of The Hobbit book to movie, check out Alise’s thoughts over at Picture Me Reading, Absurdly Nerdy for some great character discussion, and a fun way of how it should have ended, as well as Books, Writing, and Tea for her favorite book/movie (of ALL time!)

Book to Movie Talk: Will you see or have you seen The Hobbit yet? What are your thoughts?

