Tags

, ,

Today marks a day I always celebrate because without Ms. Austen, I would not be the book lover I am!

Happy Birthday Jane Austen!!!

My secret life often involves me covered in flour, and if I hadn’t been extremely busy this weekend, I would have baked a cake like this one (from Sprinkle Bakes) in celebration.

Ok… baked, yes. Decorated, no. I’m not so artsy.
(As if you couldn’t tell from my doodles.)

So instead, I will celebrate Jane Austen’s Birthday The Hopeful Heroine way–with books!

This is also my shift into something else new I want to try on the blog. Eventually, I’m going to be a high school and/or junior high English teacher and/or librarian. I grew up on and love classic literature but that isn’t always the case for kids today. Of course, my nature as lit lover extraordinaire/teacher is to want to introduce my students to this wonderful, life changing literature. However, I think when it comes to classic literature,  I am going to have to start slow and with something to hook my students.
Welcome to Credits for Classics or YA-adaptations that-I-think-will-be-great-ways-to-suck-my-students-into-classic-stories (without them ever knowing and leave them wanting more–or hopefully, the original.)

Today’s edition is most definitely Jane Austen style.

Collages1-001

If you like Emma, suggest the movie Clueless. It’s a modern retelling (via 1995) about a west cost teen who is all about the matchmaking. Who of us didn’t grow up with Cher?

*

If Sense and Sensibility is a favorite, Sass and Serendipity is a good read. Sisters Gabby and Daphne deal with the drama of high school not-so-flawlessly and in ways that teens can relate too.

*

Should Pride and Prejudice be a favorite novel and you have not discovered The Lizzie Bennet Diaries yet, you haven’t lived. 21st century vlogging with a gorgeous Mr. Darcy. What teen girl wouldn’t be interested?

*

Unrequited love? How about unrequited love, dystopian style? For Darkness Shows the Stars is the perfect retelling of Persuasion for today’s teenagers and the current lit trend.  Though I haven’t finished this read yet Jamie loved it!

*

Is Mansfield Park a favorite? I always feel bad because this is the one novel I often forget about. However, the movie version of the same title is a great visual and a way to draw readers in.

*

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget about Northanger Abbey. The one retelling I found for YA readers happened to be a little Twilight-y, and since I have an aversion to that series I have a hard time recommending the retelling. Anyone have a good retelling of this one?

Book Talk: I know there are a million retellings of several of these novels…these just happened to be round 1 that I came up with. What are some of your favorites modern day Jane Austen retellings?

signature.jpg

