Tags

, , , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

I am just as shocked as you are that I am featuring this book today. If you’re a regular reader, you know that I absolutely love mystery/spy/heist novels, and in fact, Ally Carter is one of my new favorite authors. However, I made the mistake of picking up this novel during my slump phase, and I just couldn’t finish it.

Welcome to
notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy by Ally Carter
Published: October 2nd, 2007
Publisher: Hyperion
Age Group / Genre: YA| spy, adventure, romance

Why I picked it up:  Um.. see above. ^  I have seriously wanted to be a spy since I was about five, so falling into spy novels is just a past time of mine. I read the first book in the Gallagher Girls series last year and absolutely loved it, so my hope was to finish the series this year.

How far I got: Page 80…about 1/3 of the way in

The story so far: Cammie is dealing well with her break-up from her first boyfriend. However, the fact that the CIA got involved…not cool. As sophomore year starts, Cammie isn’t sure where her studies are headed, especially since this is the year each girl starts her own track. As Covert Operations becomes part of her path, she discovers her mother is hiding something that seems to be going on with the school. Only after a pop quiz in covert operations does Cammie’s hunch about other young spies in the world come true—there’s a spy academy for teenage boys, and they are taking over Gallagher Academy.

Why I put it in the drop box: I was just having trouble getting through it. I checked out the novel before Christmas, and ended up renewing it for another two weeks but still couldn’t finish it. This slump thing has been killing me because I feel as if I’m looking for a book, and just cannot seem to find the story my brain really wants to read. I thought for sure this was the book, but alas, it ended up back at the library.

Will I pick it back up?: Yes! I know when I finally find the book I’m looking for, every other book will be fair game. I’m thinking about a spy summer and trying to finish the entire Gallagher Girls series come my summer break.

Have you read Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy? Do you enjoy spy stories like me? If you’ve read it, what do you think about it? Is is a good adventure?

