Tags

, , , ,

I have dubbed this year the “Year of the YA Movie,” and honestly, I couldn’t be more excited!
Warm Bodies, Beautiful Creatures, OZ the Great and Powerful, City of Bones, Ender’s Game…and that’s only the beginning of the list.

I don’t know about you, but I am one of those book nerds who LOVES when movies are adapted from books. I know..gasp!… that probably sounds terrible because (a) so many important details are always left out of the movie, (b) the director never portrays the characters right, and (c) too many important details are left out of the movie.

Honestly though, I do this thing where I look at a movie as an entirely different entity than a book, and voila! all of my book nerd fears are gone. No worries about certain details needing to be on screen, and no wondering whether or not Mr. Perfect will look exactly as the author wanted him to look. Because aren’t they, in fact, merely doing what we as readers do every day when we read a book?

They are imagining and visualizing the story’s details and setting and characters in the way they see it in their head. Which isn’t always how the author sees it.

Ok, so maybe some of my book-to-movie thoughts come from the fact that once upon a time I wanted to be a movie director of Stephen Spielberg caliber. So I dreamed big. But I’m pretty sure I dreamed that big because every story I had ever read was THAT BIG and I sincerely wanted to put it up on the screen just so the rest of the world could love falling into its world as much as I did.

I really do love it when I story comes to life on the big screen, if only because for a few short hours I can almost literally escape into this world I am in love with. Sure, sometimes the movie forgets an important detail like an Avox, or it sort of bypasses the whole storyline of who the half-blood prince is, but despite those “artistic liberties” the movie is still a story in itself.

So until I invent a machine that literally transports me into the world of my current favorite story, I’ll escape to its screen adaptation every once in awhile. Especially if it’s Beautiful Creatures or City of Bone… because if anything, the movie will always get me to read the book first.

Always.

With those thoughts posed….my Wednesday Wondering for you this week is

collage trick-005

Just as a little pitch, if you want to participate in a Book-to-Movie post on your blog, such as with The Hobbit, I’ve gotten together with a few other bloggers, namely Picture me Reading,  to read books and watch movies this year, and then post about it! We’ve got a schedule of all those we will be reading and then venturing out to see. Just shoot me an email and I’ll pass on the stories and timeline! First up is Warm Bodies!

