Tags

, , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

I’m giving a presentation in a couple of weeks on the current popularity of the mash-up genre in YA Lit, and so I thought this read would be a great book to get me in the mood for writing my paper as well as a good source.
It would really help my research if I actually finished the book…

Welcome to today’s edition of
notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Eve and Adam by Michael Grant and Katherine Applegate
Published: October 2nd, 2012
Publisher: Feiwei & Friends
Age Group / Genre: YA| What I dub Mash-Up, a blend of sci-fi/romance/dystopian

Why I picked it up: I started looking at this book last fall because there was a little bit of hype going around. I was excited–something different, something new, something sci-fi. Something I thought I would like. I finally picked it up a couple of weeks ago not just for fun reading, but for a little research on the Mash-Up genre.

How far I got: Page 30, Chapter 10.

The story so far: Eve, short for Evening, was in a terrible car crash which severed her leg. As a runner, this sort of ruins her life. Except for the fact that after she is taken to the hospital and gone through hours of surgery to save her leg, she wakes up to the cute Solo rushing her to her mother’s research facility. Eve is taken into surgery at her mother’s place where her leg is saved perfectly. Not a scar in sight. Three days post surgery, Eve is bored causing her mother to give her a little project to do–create the perfect boy.

Why I put it in the drop box: As much as I need this book for my research, I’m pretty sure I can glean every bit of information I need from these first few chapters and the Goodreads summary. There’s been much talk abut this book in the blogosphere, and much disappointment as well. It just wasn’t speaking to my inner book nerd at this time.

Will I pick it back up?: I think so, if just not to finish it. Perhaps after I’ve immersed myself in a different genre for awhile I’ll return to the sci-fi.

Have you read Eve and Adam? Did you like it or were you disappointed like the consensus seems to be?

