Tags

, , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

Guys, I really, really like this story. But because my TBR list is getting so long, I’ve resolved that if I don’t pick a book back up in three days after I’ve put it down because I’ve immersed myself in something else, then into the not been reading pile or back to the library it goes. (Also, how many prepositions can I fill this paragraph with?) No more renewing unfinished books just to hold onto them for months at a time.

Welcome to today’s edition of
notbread*
may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Jinx by Sage Blackwood
Published: January 13th, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins
Age Group / Genre: MG| Fantasy, Magic, Adventure, Orphan story

Why I picked it up: The cover looked absolutely beautiful, (it sucked me in) and it was a new book at the library that I hadn’t heard of yet!

How far I got: Page 130, Chapter11.

The story so far: Jinx seems like a special kid, which is probably why his stepfather abandons him in the Urwald. Lucky for Jinx, the wizard Simon Magnus shows up just in time. As the next few years pass, Jinx lives with Simon and discovers a life he wants to be apart of. Finally gaining the courage to ask Simon to take him on, Jinx begins to apprentice in magic. And as far as Jinx is concerned when it comes to learning… magic is more about knowledge than anything else.

Why I put it in the drop box: I’m trying to be more of a “responsible reader.” I’ll talk to you about it on Wednesday, but I am notorious for reading several books at a time. It’s great because I’ve always got something to read, yet at the same time it takes me longer to finish books and every so often, I’ll leave one unfinished. So, from now on, if I put a book down and don’t pick it up again within three days, it’s going back to the library until another time. Unfortunately, Jinx got the boot this time.

Will I pick it back up?: Oh definitely! It’s like Harry Potter living in Howl’s Moving Castle having traveled through The Secret of Platform 13.

Book Talk: Have you read Jinx yet? Or are you like me and a newbie to the story?

