Tags

, , , ,

If you haven’t heard by now, I’m about to share some news with you.
April is National Poetry Month, and you should celebrate too.
See, I like to talk in verse sometimes, but my rhyming isn’t the best,
so bear with me a little while, and I’ll finally give it a rest.

Really though…when I’m not rhyming, I find my verse to be a whole lot better! Enough about me though….let’s talk about POETRY! April really is National Poetry Month, and I find poetry to be a hidden gem among children’s literature. Sure, we grow up with Shel Silverstein and Jack Prelutsky, but once we grow up, how often do we enjoy their verse?

My say is it should be everyday! There are enough fun poems out there to bring a smile to our face every morning if we woke up to the giggles and silliness of these poets.

So in honor of National Poetry Month, here are eight poetry collections that are perfect for the kid in all of us.

Desktop11

Books The Hopeful Heroine recommends:

By Shel Silverstein
Everything On It  |  Where the Sidewalk Ends
A Light in the AtticFalling Up

By Jack Prelutsky
The New Kid on the Block  |  It’s Raining Pigs and Noodles
A Pizza the Size of the Sun  |  Something Big Has Been Here


Hopeful reading!

