Tags

, , , , ,

Desktop3

Author Website |
Release Date: March 1st, 2013 | Publisher: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky
Genre: contemporary, realism, foodie| Pages: 150

As always with my MMGMs, I’m super excited to share this book with you! I found this series last fall and devoured (ha!) both Peace, Love, and Cupcakesas well as Recipe for Trouble. Today brings the third installment of The Cupcake Club series with the Cupcake Club Party Blog Tour!

For some added fun, check out Sourcebooks’ Cupcake Club Collection full of everything you need to throw and an awesome cupcake club party!

I was graciously provided a copy for review from Sourcebooks Jabberwocky. I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

Sadie isn’t your average baker. In fact, at one point she was more comfortable on the basketball court than in the kitchen. But with the cupcake club, she’s found a home. This year, it looks like Sadie’s experience with competition might just come in handy as the club is chosen to be a part of Battle of the Bakers, an ultimate cupcake competition on TV!
But when the cupcake business starts losing money, and Sadie starts dealing with some family issues, the girls must band together to bake up a winning treat.

5 reasons why this book is marvelous!

  1. Sadie, Lexi, Kylie, and Jenna are back! Oh I just love these girls. When I first started reading this series, I was a little skeptical that fifth graders could bake hundreds of cupcakes in one day, and then create a booming business! Then I remembered THIS IS FICTION! And the fact that THIS IS BASED ON THE REAL LIFE OF THE AUTHOR! (Sorry for the all caps rage… I’m still just in amazement.) I really do love these four characters though because despite my first qualms about what they could do, I never second guessed who they were. They seem so realistic in that they are a group of four friends with different lives. Yet, cupcakes bring them together. I still haven’t figured out who I’m most like, but I do know one thing: if these girls were around in my life, I would be friends with all of them!
  2. CUPCAKES! As with the previous Cupcake Club series books, Berk has included some fabulous recipes in the back of the book. I don’t know if I want to try the caramel cupcakes, or the chocolate chili cupcakes with cream cheese frosting first! Perhaps I”ll have my own baking marathon….
  3. I love how once again what seems to be a completely fun and fabulous read, has depth. I will be honest. I totally judge books by their covers. And their titles. And their summaries. And Winner Bakes All just seemed like one of those good-for-the-soul-fabulous-&-fun books. I was expecting a little conflict within the cupcake business, but definitely not the issues Sadie deals with. But I am happy the issues are in the story! Berk digs into some serious kid thoughts in her story, and though I don’t enjoy seeing Sadie struggle, I enjoy the fact that she is struggling with something prevalent in kids lives these days making her a much more real character to readers.
  4. At the heart of this story is friendship and how important it is to be there for each other, no matter the circumstances. Ultimately, this is a story that I know I will be able to pick up, hand to a middle grade girl who is perhaps struggling with some family issues, and this story will make her smile.
  5. Cupcakes. Again. Need I say more?

    CN-007The verdict is in…Unanimously a winner!!

Book Talk: Have you discovered The Cupcake Club series yet? If so, are you looking forward to Sadie’s story?  Which girl are you most like?

Hopeful reading!

