Tags

, , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

Oh man. This whole if I don’t pick up a book after three days is killing me! You all probably know by now that I have a huge love of spy/heist/mystery stories, and I’m pretty much like Veronica Mars in real life. (I did grow up in a secret spy school after all…but if I told you the name I’d have to kill you.) So needless to say, I was really excited when I found this book on my library shelves a few weeks ago.
But alas….

Welcome to today’s edition of
notbread*
may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger
Published: February 5th, 2013
Publisher: Little, Brown Books
Age Group / Genre: YA| Spy, Steampunk
Series: Yes, Finishing School

Why I picked it up: One the cover is fabulous! And Two… a typical secret spy story with a little bit of steampunk thrown in.

How far I got: Page 44, Chapter 4

The story so far: Sophronia is a little bit different than “normal” girls her age. Instead of sitting around drinking tea and cross-stitching, she’d rather crawl around in dumbwaiters and take apart machines just to figure out how they work. Perhaps that’s why Mademoiselle Geraldine arrives unannounced to offer her a spot in her finishing school…which just happens to be a good idea considering their carriage is attacked by flywaymen on the way back to the school and Sophronia saves the day. Perhaps she will fit in after all.

Why I put it in the drop box: This is my first attempt at the steampunk genre, and I’m just not sure what to think so far. The story seems really interesting, but boy did Carriger pick some weird names. I’m having trouble following the characters (let alone pronounce their name right.) And I’m just not sure if I like them yet. Personalities seem very different in this genre, and there is just something I can’t quite put my finger on that doesn’t sit well with me.

Will I pick it back up?: Technically I’m still holding onto this one, and I even renewed it in hopes that I’ll pick it up again in the next couple of weeks. We’ll see.

Book Talk: Have you read Espionage & Etiquette yet? What are your thoughts on steampunk novels? Do they take a while to get into or are they simply a love it or hate it genre?

