Tags

, , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

So…obviously this feature has proven worthy of it’s creation considering I feel like I’ve been posting more non-reviews than reviews lately. [Never fear, I’m t-minus 6 days from being done with the semester, and I have a backlog of at least 7 seven YA reviews!]
From my previous sidekick reviews on this series, I should have known I wouldn’t finish this read. But I tried you guys. I really tried.

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Sever by Lauren DeStefano
Published: February 12th, 2013
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Age Group / Genre: YA| Dystopian, Romance,
Series: Yes, The Chemical Garden
Trilogy

Why I picked it up: I read and reviewed Wither and Fever while I was on my dystopian kick, so even though I wasn’t a huge fan of the series,  I picked up this read for some closure.

How far I got: Page 10, Chapter 2

The story so far: Rhine is still in the hospital, healing after having been rescued from being a specimen in her step-father’s lab experiments. After reconnecting with her sister wife Cecily, she spends time talking with her husband Linden, explaining that she can’t come home but in fact must leave to find her brother.

Why I put it in the drop box: I really honestly could not remember what happened in book 2, and so I felt lost. I probably should have read a little more than chapter 1, but something about this series just makes me cringe. I still thinks it’s the whole polygamy aspect–and even if it is a post-apocalyptic, dystopic world–it’s just weird.

Will I pick it back up?: I really want to say no…but I have this thing with closure. I cannot let a trilogy or series go unfinished.

Book Talk: Have you read Sever yet? Are you a fan of the Chemical Garden trilogy? I hear this book does a good job of making sense of book 2, but is it worth finishing? Will I get closure?

