Tags

, , ,

It’s May 1st already, and I’m T-minus 2 papers, 2 classes, 1 project, 1 final, and  5 days until my summer officially begins. I have been perusing the library like it’s nobody’s business. I brought home four YA books yesterday, and I already have a stack of MG waiting for me.
And yet….I’m still craving more recommendations.
Guys, I think I have a serious problem…

I am totally, 100% addicted to books, and I sort of go crazy in the summer thinking I can read about a million of them.

Ever since I can remember, I’ve been head over heels for contemporary novels.  I was introduced to Sarah Desson when I was in high school and immediately found myself in every single one of her books. Particularly The Truth About Forever. I’m still convinced that I married Wes. Then, when I got into college, I fell super hard for YA, and found myself gravitating towards more contemporary works. Over the last couple of years, I sort of have a tradition that I didn’t really plan, but just happened, where I reread Sarah Dessn every summer. [As a side note, I’m actually going to be doing a new feature called A Sarah Dessen Summer starting in June. If you perhaps have an ARC of The Moon and More and you would be willing to part with it in the next month, I would be grateful as I’d like to start with her new book! Contact me, and I promise to send you cookies or something else really super cool!]

There’s just something about the summer that makes me want to read about beaches, and boys, and sunshine, and families, and traveling. Probably simply because it is summer and what better time to read about all that and to escape into those kinds of stories.

So, in addition to my traditional reading selection…here’s just a few books I have in my library queue waiting for me this summer. Desktop

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins |
Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler | The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen | 13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson | Second Chance Summer by Megan

I also should mention via Jaime’s Top Ten prompt yesterday that if any contemporary book features the words traveling, boys, beaches, adventure, or family (and romance, or camp) then I’m so in.

And, in case I finish my steep list of books—I think I’m going to print out Brittany’s Guide to Contemporary Fiction and hang it on my well so I can reference it. (Brittany–when I become a teacher/librarian, I’m sooo hanging this up in my classroom for my students! Love it!)

Now, with those thoughts posed….my Wednesday Wondering for you this week is

Desktop1-001

Book Talk: Basically this is because with a stack of about 10 books,  I don’t already have enough books to read this summer….so suggest one or two to fill my fancy! Or, just tell me what your favorite contemporary YA story is. What’s your favorite summer read of all time? You know, the one you pick up every summer just because.

