Tags

, , , ,

Author: Beth Bracken & Kay Fraser |
Website |
Illustrator: Odessa Sawyer |
Publication Date: May 2013 |
Publisher: Capstone Young Readers |
My Interest: Faerie Story |
Source: Media Masters Publicity |
Age Group | Genre: MG| Faerie Tale, Fantasy, Friendship |
Series: Yes, Faerieground | Pages: 266

This… book. I think I’m just going to let my review speak for itself because I loved it. I loved the story. I loved the pictures. I loved the character. I loved everything.
This story has actually been on my radar for awhile, so I was super excited to dive into in a few weeks ago, and let me just tell you. Bracken and Fraser created a world I did not want to leave!

I was provided a copy for review via Capstone Young Readers. I was not compensated in any way for my words (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

Lucy understands that no matter what, you never make wishes in Willow Forest. For their entire friendship, Lucy has always been able to redirect Soli when she starts off sentences with her throw away “I wish”-es. But then something goes wrong.

Lucy knows Soli’s anger is her fault, but she never expected the two of them to be whisked into the middle of an ancient battle because of one careless wish. As an evil faerie queen searches for something dear she lost, Soli must find her own hidden strength if she is ever going to save her best friend from her wish gone awry.

Review

Imagine taking your usual shortcut through the woods on your way home from school, only to realize that in the middle of a sunny afternoon, the woods have gone dark and the air is alive with faeries.
Imagine your life is not what you thought it was. That in fact, you have a deep connection with the Faerieground, and you are the only who can save it.
If you are picturing a wood alive with tiny little faeries reminiscent of Tinkerbell sprinkling faerie dust to grant your wishes, than you dear reader are in for a surprise. Bracken and Fraser’s Faerieground: Wish is not your typical faerie tale. In fact, it is a story that will open your eyes to a new sort of fantasy. To a new world that exists parallel with ours.

From the opening pages of Faerieground: Wish, readers themselves are whisked into a world far different from their own and any preconceived notions they may have of faeries suddenly finds no place within Bracken and Fraser’s story. The authors have crafted a world that not only shines through the voices of Soli and Lucy—which we hear through alternating point of views every chapter—but through the illustrations done by Odessa Sawyer. Faerieground: Wish is in fact part graphic novel, and at times I felt myself more immersed in the vibrant images than I did the words. Though a quick read, at 266 pages where half are illustrated, the story is by no means one to fly through. I often found myself lingering on Sawyer’s striking images trying to figure out if there was more to the story than I was imagining on my own. Though the story itself is a gripping tale of friendship and adventure, the illustrations, by far, are worth more than 1,000 words. Sawyer’s concept of faeries is beautifully haunting—not in a scary way, but in one that resonates with the reader far after the book has been closed. Her images are redolent, and far from the traditional Tinkerbell idea of a faerie, as they are emotionally revealing far beyond the story’s words.

However, Bracken and Fraser’s novel is a compelling one. Though the plot is predictable at times, middle school girls will connect with either of the two main characters, finding a piece of their souls in the story—perhaps bravery like Soli or hope like Lucy. Both characters are written in such a way that I felt as if they were two girls who could have been sitting at my lunch table. We begin to hear their hearts as they both deeply wonder how their friend will be changed by the Faerieground. And so as to not give away any spoilers, I will simply tell you to pay attention to both Lucy and Soli. You will learn from both of them.

As a deep lover of books, I would want nothing more than for readers to immerse themselves into the Faerieground in hopes of understanding something in their own life. Faerieground: Wish is ultimately a tale of friendship, growing up, and the challenges along the way. But it also reminds readers that the power of love often wins in the end. In children’s literature good constantly prevails over evil, and this story is no exception. Filled with the struggles of middle school, readers will close the splendid pages of Faerieground: Wish hungry for book two and armed with hidden lessons that will help them walk through their own dark woods.

If you like this novel, you might like….

13 Treasures by Michelle Harrison

  

 

The Summer of Moonlight Secrets by Danette Haworth

Final Thoughts

wish-final

Hopeful reading!
signature

