Tags

, , , ,

NERD BannerA huge thanks goes out to Entangled Teen, Leah Rae Miller, and Rockstar Book Tours for organizing this awesomely adorkable blog tour as well as letting me be apart of it.

Author: Leah Rae Miller | Website | Blog | TSIBAN 1600px RGB
Publication Date: May 7th, 2013 | Publisher: Entangled Teen
My Interest: Contemporary Love, Summer Story | Source: Rockstar Book Tours
Age Group | Genre: YA| Contemporary, Realism, Romance, Adorkable
Series: No | Pages: 276

As you well know, summer is my time for reading. It always has been. I wouldn’t say I have a double life because I’m a voracious reader 365 days a year (except for the occasional slump) but I do always feel different in the summer. I pick up contemporaries like it’s nobody’s business, and I fall into the romances, and trips to the beach, and the summer sun. I find anything to be possible. And The Summer I Became a Nerd was every bit of a perfect summer read for me.

I was provided a copy for review via Entangled Teen. I was not compensated in any way for my words (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to
keep it that way.

Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her
lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.

Review

As a non-closeted nerd (I’m proud; I share my nerdism with the world,) I was anxious to dive into The Summer I Became A Nerd. More so than the fact that this book was about comics (and eventually LARP games! – which I don’t play by the way-) I knew from the get-go this was one of those fabulous contemporary stories where the girl throws off her worries and decides to just be herself.
And though the story was predictable in that sense, it didn’t bother me one bit. Most contemporaries/realism/romances tend to follow a similar structure. Girl is unhappy-girl meets boy- girl is happy-girl and boy are seemingly from different worlds-difference doesn’t matter to gir -miscommunication happens-tension-everything is fixed-end with a kiss

The Summer I Became a Nerd sort of follows that structure, but with a lot more conflict in Maddie’s own heart, and lots of miscommunication between her and Logan. But honestly, when I think back to my own teen years and romances and my girl friends and their boy troubles, there’s supposed to be a lot of conflict between girls and boys. And lots of miscommunication, because let’s face it, teenage girls and boys are on totally different planets.

I think that was what I loved so much about this story. Both Maddie and Logan are such realistic characters between their dialogues, actions, personalities, and struggles. Maddie has such a hard time trying to figure out it is ok to just be herself because she is so worried about her “friends” not accepting her. And isn’t that the whole of high school? Every kid just wants to fit in somewhere. My favorite line (besides all the great Star Wars references) comes when Maddie thinks to herself, “To think all the time I’ve wasted being so secretive. I could’ve been so much happier.” And the truth is–if so many of us–as teens or even grownups–realized this same exact thing, I believe we would be such a happier people. We would give into our passions, like Maddie and her comics, and we would  be so less afraid to chase the things we want.

Miller has written such an adorkable story (I borrowed this word from the summary, and I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a new genre of books) that readers of the tumultuous teenage years, as well as grown-ups still struggling with their own passions, can relate too. I often measure contemporary summer reads by a Sarah Dessen standard, and The Summer I Became a Nerd definitely measures up. Though Miller’s novel takes place in and around a comic book store and nowhere near the beach, the atmosphere of the story is that of anything-is-possible-attitudes and summer romances that extend far beyond the finality of a last bonfire. Or…at least far beyond the last panels of a comic book.

If you like this novel, you might like….

Wide Awake by Hilary T. Smith

  

How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski

Or if you enjoy: Sarah Dessen, summer contemporaries, internal conflict, comic books, sweet romances, realism, nerds, a good laugh, passion-chasing

Final Thoughts

SBNf

PS….There’s a GREAT GIVEAWAY for 3 copies of The Summer I Became a Nerd and it’s INTERNATIONAL via the blog tour!

Hopeful reading!
signature

