Tags

, , , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

Wow. I’m almost ashamed to post today’s edition of my DNF read. It’s actually a marvelous middle grade book AND a Newberry Honor.
I have a disclaimer before I get into it–I really, really like this story, but for some reason, I just stopped reading it.

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz
Published: August 28th, 2012
Publisher: Candlewick
Age Group / Genre: MG | Fantasy, Mystery
Series: No

Why I picked it up: I saw Splendors and Glooms on the shelf last September and knew it was a book I had to pick up. It just looked like such a fabulous read!

How far I got: Page 136, Chapter 20

The story so far: Lizzie Rose and Parsefall are two orphans who have been taken under the wing of Gaspare Grisini, a master puppeteer. So far, there have been a few mysteries surrounding their shows, but after a night at Clara Wintermute’s birthday party–and her disappearance the next day–Lizzie Rose and Parsefall understand there’s something about their ward that they can’t quite place their finger on. Especially when they find a puppet locked in Grisini’s box that looks an awful lot like Clara.

Why I put it in the drop box:Well, honestly I ran out of renewals at the library. But, as I said before, I’m sort of ashamed I’m turning this book back in. Not only is it a MG read, but it’s a Newberry Honor book. That right there screams I should finish it. But alas–I turned this book back in because I just couldn’t get any further in the book than I was. I read about 80  pages in one sitting when I first picked it up, and the rest just felt like I was slogging through the pages. It just felt like a slow read to me–even though it’s fantasy. I honestly think it’s the time of the year. Come fall and Halloween–this would be a perfect read.

Will I pick it back up?: YES! This is one book I have to finish this year!

*I would also like to add one more disclaimer here–I surprised myself at picking this book up in the first place considering I have this weird fear of puppets. I know. Weird. However,  these are definitely marionettes, which I am fine with. It’s the church puppets that freak me out.

Book Talk: Have you read Splendors and Glooms yet? What did you think? Or have you read any other of Schlitz’s books?

