Tags

, , ,

When I think about soundtracks, I think about lists of songs fitting with scenes at just the right moment.
AKA, movies. They all have soundtracks.

But when I’m reading, music often plays an important part of the atmosphere I create in my imagination. Whether I have my iPod on in the background, or I simply connect songs to the book I’m reading, I feel moved by the notes.

These days, I know many authors create set lists while they’re writing to help them find their scenes–and there are even plenty of stories out there driven by music. Think Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, Audrey, Wait!, and Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour.

But even in my own writing I turn to music for inspiration, and I am married to a musician. Music is just sort of in me and around me.
I don’t know about you, but every once in awhile I find a song that just seems to fit perfectly with the book I’m reading. And that song ends up becoming the lone soundtrack to the novel.
Since I have more time this summer, I wanted to try something different. Branch out a little with books and find more ways to recommend stories.

Thus,

S&Sis born.

I even thought that this column could feature your soundtracks and stories every so often, should you like it too. I have a few weeks planned, but if you’re like me and love how certain songs fit perfectly with certain stories, email me and I’ll ask you some fun questions, figure our your song and story, and feature you!

Today’s selection is what inspired this new feature:

s&sdosbI know you all know how much I rave about Daughter of Smoke and Bone, but what I sort of left out of my review is the fact that I had one song stuck in my head the entire time: Alex Clare’s “Too Close”
[Here’s where you pause for a moment, click on the link, watch the You Tube video, and tell me that the song totally radiates the atmosphere of Daughter of Smoke and Bone.]

I’m not sure what it was exactly that made this song jump out at me in connection with this book, but I do know when. It’s near the end. The big part. You know what I’m talking about if you’ve read it. If you haven’t I won’t spoil it.
I think it’s the underlying, deep bass notes and the techno shift into the chorus—the WAH, WAH, WAH….feeling that was so dreamlike in sequence that my mind was spinning with the story and the song all at once.
Heck… I even feel like the lyrics, “I feel like I’m just too close to love you / I can’t hide no more / got to be true to myself” are SPOT ON with Taylor’s novel.

So what do you think? Are you a Soundtracks & Stories kind of reader? If you’ve read the book and know the song –or even if you’ve just now heard it–do you see how they fit together? Or at least how my mind fits them together? What other songs would you connect  to Daughter of Smoke and Bone?

Book Talk
: Want to share your own Soundtrack & Stories? Email me at thehopefulheroine (at) gmail (dot) com or hit me up via Twitter @hopefulheroine

Hopeful reading!

signature.jpg

