Tags

, , , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

Ok…another week and another DNF read. I have a HUGE pile of books, and I figure the only way I’m going to get through them is if I put down the ones that just aren’t speaking to me. Don’t judge me too harshly about this one though–considering it’s a book that is all the rage, and blurbed my Meg Cabot.
I like music. I should’ve liked this.

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway
Published: April 10th, 2008
Publisher: Razorbill
Age Group / Genre: YA | Realism, Contemporary, Romance, Musical
Series: No

Why I picked it up: Honestly–everyone has been raving about this book, (Particularly Jamie who always has fabulous thoughts on reads,) and I thought it was really going to be a book I would enjoy.

How far I got: Page 55, Chapter 6

The story so far: Audrey broke up with her boyfriend Evan because they just weren’t working. Turns out the breakup inspired him to write a song for his band, the Do-Gooders. As the song begins to climb the charts, “Audrey, Wait” starts to haunt Audrey and so she’s decided to tell her side of the story.

Why I put it in the drop box: This one is also another case of the short checkout period. Our library recently changed programs, so now I have about 400 libraries for my interlibrary loan BUT every library has a different check-out period and some don’t do renewals. Frustrating. Besides that though, something about the voice in this story wasn’t connecting with me. I think Audrey seems fabulous, but I couldn’t fall into the tone and atmosphere of the story like I have been with others. Plus it always frustrates me, even if it is at times realistic, when I pick up a novel and it’s laden with the F-bomb. Teens say it and think it–I get it–but I’ve also read novels that don’t have it. Though I don’t like it, language usually doesn’t make me DNF a novel, and in this case it didn’t–it was just more the tone than anything.

Will I pick it back up?: Perhaps. I’ve got Benway’s other two novels in my pile, so depending on those two, I may have to try to find the right moment to pick Audrey, Wait back up.

Book Talk: Have you read Audrey, Wait? What am I missing? How could I not get into this novel?

