Tags

, , ,

Desktop4Author Website |
Release Date: June 3rd, 2012 | Publisher: Sparkling Books, Ltd
Genre: Mystery, Adventure, Noir | Pages: 150

Way back when I did a highly anticipated MMGM in which I previewed today’s story. I have this thing where I may read a book way early, but I don’t like to share it with you until closer to publication date. But today’s story definitely deserved two MMGM’s because it’s such a great read!

I was provided out a copy from Sparkling Books via NetGalley. I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

After losing both of his parents, Peregrine has been on his own for awhile, trying to make his way in 1908 London. He works in a newspaper office as a reporter, but his heart holds dreams of becoming a detective.
When he stumbles upon a gruesome murder, his detective instincts kick in, as he is pulled into an adventure involving assassins and secret societies.
Every clue he unravels brings him one step closer to the terrifying truth behind the Brotherhood of the Black Death.

5 Reasons Why This Book is Marvelous!

  1. I want to preface this review by telling you that my number one reason for loving this story is that it involves murder. Now, it is a little bit more graphic than typical MG stories, so I recommend the story with reservations, but it’s still a fun read! I’m not a crazy person or anything, but stories that involve murder are always so intriguing! At the MG level, there’s usually reason for it and in this case it leads to my number two…
  2. Mystery! So, the murder aspect in the story leads Peregrine on the hunt in solving a mystery. And even though my brain is getting pretty good at picking out clues and solving the puzzle, it took me a little bit to discover the twist. Even though I saw it coming, I think readers will be surprised and the mysterious element will only fuel their adventure!
  3. I so loved how this story is full of mayhem. Peregrine is such a level headed character, that no matter what sort of craziness crosses his path, he handles it like a champ! This was definitely an action packed story, and I found myself wanting to read this is one setting. Guys… The mayhem in this story is around every corner. It’s a page turner for sure!!
  4. I don’t know if you will count this the same as mayhem , but I’m also saying this story is marvelous because it is so adventurous! See, I think of mayhem as that little but of trouble Peregrine finds himself in… And the adventure is how he gets out! Honesty, the adventure starts from the very beginning. Peregrine stumbles upon captors and murders, and crazy rich guys. He gets caught up in a secret brotherhood, and then he meets a girl. Which is probably, honestly, the biggest adventure of all.
  5. I guess this summer is my summer of boy books. But you know, I need more experience in this area so I can connect my boy students to books, and sometimes, it’s just great to read something different than what I’m used too. Just like the past two weeks, Peregrine is a boy I absolutely loved. He seems like a character who has so much on his plate, but at the same time, he handles things like an adult. He’s got a great sense of humor, and is a fabulous character, but what I think is most marvelous about Peregrine is that he is a great example of how junior high boys are kids at heart yet also on the brink of adulthood. It’s a story that will teach boys to be boys, as well as how all of us should seek just a little bit of adventure everyday.

must-readBook Talk: What are your hopes for Peregrine Harker? Does it sound exciting to you?

Hopeful reading!

