Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to this week’s edition of: T&TI definitely fail as a writer this week. But, I was also gone to Minnesota over a long weekend, and I’m prepping for my summer away at camp. I’m hoping that over the next two months, since I’ll have plenty of free time, that my writing will really take off.

I’m going to be totally honest here. I didn’t add to my word count at all.

But, I did add to my idea bank. I spent a lot of time with family this weekend, particularly my grandpa, and my story deals a lot with family, and grandpas, and grandmas, and grief. So, I worked on fleshing out a plot line.

I still have major holes in my plot, but I’m slowly piecing it together. It’s a process, and I am desperately trying to focus on that. Unless I lock myself in a room with only a computer (sans internet) or paper and pen, I’m not going to come up with a plot right off the bat. I have ideas. I have a loose outline. But any form of a “this is exactly it!” story doesn’t come without writing.

Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself so I’ll keep writing. This is a first draft after all.

It just seems that right now, since my time is all over the place, that I’m thinking. And thinking. And just thinking. I’m writing, but in a different way.

I’m creating a world, I guess.

And I think I’m going to go get on my bike, spend some time outside, and create.

Because what are writers, if not world builders?

MG writer, signing off to think.

signature_thumb.jpg

