Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to today’s Friday Follies!I have a feeling, as I sit out in the middle-of-nowhere-woods, that I’m about as far away as possible from today’s destination.
But no bother–my books will take me places. And today, they are taking me to a city–to a country–I hope to someday really visit.  I would be lying if I told you I merely wanted to visit this country because my husband has family and history there.
i really just want to visit for the pastries!

Collages1Destination: France

Travel plans via
Mira’s Diary: Lost in ParisChasing Paris | Die for Me | Anna and the French Kiss

Travel buddies: I’d take my husband, our Grandmother Jackie, and probably the rest of his family!

France is simply romantic. Or at least that’s the way it seems. I’ve always had my heart set on visiting the country, specifically Paris, for numerous reasons–the food, the art, the history, the sights–but honestly, I think the romantic notion of the country is what draws me.
Now that I have a connection though (my husband actually has family in the country!) perhaps some day my dream will come true!

The Books

For some MG travel plans: Mira’s Diary: Lost in Paris by Marissa Moss (and even The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick) are wonderful stories that really immerse the reader in the destination. Both are historical, so they offer a different view of the France I hope to visit. But nonetheless, I love escaping through this detail-rich, and beautifully illustrated stories!

For some YA travelers: Chasing Paris by Jen Carter takes part mostly in California, but we get flashbacks of Paris during the first half of the 1900’s which are often image-rich descriptions through letters. But don’t fear, the story itself journeys to modern day Paris, and readers will not be disappointed if they are looking for travel!

This weekend I’m disappearing through Anna and the French Kiss by Stephenie Perkins because I’ve heard it holds just the romance I’m looking for from the City of Lights. And I also only recently discovered Die for Me by Amy Plum. Through it, I shall explore Parisian art and literature, and perhaps discover a twist to the typical love plot.

Sights

Image source: Reader's Digest

Image source: Reader’s Digest

If, and when, I visit Paris, one of my top places to visit is the Eiffel Tower–perhaps even at night! I heard it’s absolutely gorgeous, and it’s just iconic. I couldn’t miss it.

I also want to see Notre Dame Cathedral, the Louvre, and the Arc de Triomphe. I’m kind of an art and architecture nut, and I could spend hours at all three places just taking in the sight and the history!

Of course I would also have to stroll the Champs-Elysees, visit Montmartre, take a break at the Luxemburg Gardens, and take a day trip to Versailles Palace.
And I’d probably spend all of my money in the patisseries and cafes!

And that’s only Paris!  France would be a dream vacation for me–and one I could probably spend a month in, backpacking across the country, blogging my way through sights.

But for now, my follies are all about good books to travel by!

Book Talk: Do you dream of visiting Paris or France for that matter? What sights are “must sees” for you?
Have you read any of the featured stories? Which one’s whisk you away?

Hopeful traveling!

