Tags

, , ,

Author: Kiera Cass| Website |
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2013|
Publisher: Harper Teen
My Interest: Series Love|
Source: Library
Age Group | Genre: YA| Dystopian, Romance
Series: Yes, The Selection|
Pages: 323

I figured with The 4th coming up tomorrow, what better review to feature today than one involving America?!?! One of the first reviews I featured last year was The Selection and I absolutely loved it. I have been waiting for today’s book FOREVER, and best of all–it didn’t have second book syndrome for me!

I checked out a copy from my local library. I was not compensated in any way for my words (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

The selection is down to six girls–and America Singer is one of them. When she’s with the Prince, their romance leaves her breathless and wanting nothing more than to be with him, but when Aspen turns up around the palace, she remembers what it was like to be in his arms and is overcome with hope at their life back home.
But now that the group is narrowed down to an elite number, America is running out of time to decide who she really wants to be with. After a devastating, and surprising loss, America’s choice turns to questioning everything she believed in. And with the rebels drawing ever closer, her happy ending might not be so happy after all.

Review

I loved this book so much I read it in 7.5 hours straight. Literally.
Last month I went up to MN with my family, and got to kick it in the backseat for the whole drive. I opened The Elite the minute we left town, and turned the final page right as we pulled into my Aunt’s driveway.
It’s been awhile since I’ve been pulled so far into a book that time around me fades away.

I loved it you guys. The reading and the book.

My biggest fear going into this story was that it was going to be typical and have second book syndrome. But it didn’t you guys!!!! Obviously going into it I hoped that the story would progress, that we would get to know more about America, and that we would also learn about the other girls while simultaneously disliking them because we’d all be rooting for America anyway.
I have to say, I sort of fell in love with Marley. I’m that person, though, that always ends up rooting for two people and then hoping I really like the one who was picked. Cass just did a fabulous job elaborating on her characters, and letting us get to know them, albeit through America’s eyes. But, I trust America and I like her, so I’m bound to think the same way she does about some of the girls.

The story took a wicked twist that I was not expecting, but it kept the plot interesting. Which is why I totally feel that it did not develop second book syndrome. I will not give anything away, but even though there were pieces of the story that were heartbreaking, they needed to happen in the overall storyline. I did sort of guess at where the end of the book was going, but I’m happy about it. When America does what she does, and then makes her choice, I felt it reinforced her character. She turns out to be a much stronger heroine then I originally thought in book 1, and I love that. Anytime a story has a powerful heroine–it gets a fist pump from me.

I am definitely excited to see where Cass takes the end of the trilogy as her writing has continued to grow on me. I’m definitely adding this series to my post-apocalyptic reads list.

If you like this novel, you might like….

Breathe by Sarah Crossan

  

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

Or if you enjoy: dystopian, romance, reality TV, post-apocalyptic stories, The Bachelor,

Final Thoughts

Efinal-wordsBook Talk: Have you read The Elite yet? Or have you ventured into The Selection series? What is your take on the story?

Hopeful reading!
signature

