Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to today’s Friday Follies!What better way to celebrate a week of America than to head out to the beach!
Out of all of the traveling I could do in a summer, if someone offered me a trip to the beach, I’d take it in a heartbeat and stay there for months.
In fact, when I was in college I lived in Florida for a summer, 20 minutes from the beach. It was glorious, and I never missed a day.
Though I’m headed back to camp for another three weeks–you can bet my 3 hours life guarding at the “lake” will be well spent.
Don’t worry–even if I have been basking in the sun, no one has drowned on my watch yet!

Desktop9Destination: the beach!

Travel plans via
Along for the Ride  | Keeping the Moon  | Summer of the Gypsy Moths |
The Moon and More

Travel buddies: I’d take my husband and Captain Nosy! Though he doesn’t like the water, he’d bask in the sun with me.

The beach is simply relaxing. I’ve been fortunate enough to spend vacations in Florida, swim in the Atlantic, frolic in the Gulf, and I’ve even dipped my toes in the Irish Sea. Someday I hope to make it all the way over to the Pacific–perhaps even on my bike!

The Books

For some MG travel plans: Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sara Pennypacker is set in Cape Cod, a place I would love to visit someday. Though it’s a story that deals with tragedy and grief, there’s something about the setting, and the beautiful scenes Pennypacker writes, that makes the book lighthearted.

For some YA travelers: If you don’t know by now, my go-to beach novels are definitely anything by Sarah Dessen. Though I’m fan of them all, Keeping the Moon and Along for the Ride are my favorite when if comes to escaping to the beach. I love Colie’s experience in Colby, NC and then going back there with Auden just makes me wish I could really find Colby on the map!

This weekend, though, I’m finally disappearing through The Moon and More. I’ve been looking forward to it ever since Dessen announced it on her blog last year, and what’s even better is it’s set in Colby again! Yay for the beach!

Sights

So I live in the middle of IL, which is most definitely a land locked area and a place I hope to not live my whole life. What can I say, I was born for the coast! But… I know how to make the most of what we’ve got. About 40 minutes from our town there’s a little man made lake with a beach. It may not be the Atlantic, but it sure makes a Midwestern girl happy!

Last September a friend invited me to her grandmother’s up near Michiana. We spent Labor Day weekend relaxing on the beach, and let me tell you, it was the perfect way to end summer! I have a whole new view of the northern coast.

Finally, I may be stationed on another man-made lake this summer, but there’s something about sunshine, the breeze in my hair, and water rippling in front of me. It relaxes my soul, and helps me to just let go of whatever has been bugging me. There’s nothing better to me than being able to sit outside by the water and just be.

Book Talk: What about you…are you a beach get-away kind of person? Where’s you favorite beach to travel too? What reads help set the summer sun & sand scene for you?

Hopeful traveling!

