Tags

, , , , ,

*Note: This column comes from the fact that I truly do believe in the power of story, and I know there is a book for everyone. So even if a book may not be the right book for me, that doesn’t mean it might not be the book that makes you become a reader.

I have a feeling I am going to get major grief over today’s DNF. But before you drop your jaw in shock and awe, and tell me all about how great of a story this is: I know.
I just–can’t read it right now.

Welcome to today’s edition of

notbread*may contain spoilers

My current {not} read this week is The Fault in Our Stars by John Greene
Published: January 10th, 2012
Publisher: Dutton Books
Age Group / Genre: YA | Contemporary, Realism, Romance
Series: No

Why I picked it up: Do I even need to answer that? It’s John Green + it’s won a million awards + everyone is raving about it.

How far I got: Page 24, Chapter 2

The story so far: I’ve been introduced to Hazel Grace and her terminal illness. The story opens up with her in Cancer Kids Support Group where she suddenly meets Augustus Winters. A boy, I think, who might change her life.

Why I put it in the drop box: I was actually really excited about this story because the library I got it from has a month long loan period. I read 24 pages, and then stopped picking it up. So then I renewed it for two more weeks. And never picked it up again. I think–since my grandmother’s passing (ovarian cancer) is still with me, I’m psyching myself out of reading this because I believe it will be too sad.

Will I pick it back up?: Yes, yes, yes! I actually just put it back on my queue list this morning because I want to seriously read this book before summer is over. I just need to get over my mental block. Plus I hear it’s going to be a movie and I have to read it before it hits the bigscreen!

Book Talk: Have you read The Fault in Our Stars? Is it as sad as I think it is? Should I just suck it up and read it? What did you think?

