Tags

, , , , , , ,

Collages1Author: Jaclyn Moriarty | Website
Release Date:  April 1st, 2013|
Publisher: Arthur Levine Books
Genre: Fantasy, Mystery, Magical Realism| Pages: 373

I had no idea this book existed until The Colors of Madeleine blog tour happened a few months ago. I stumbled upon a post about the book, and I was instantly drawn to it. I know this is most likely considered an YA novel, but I’m labeling it a crossover. I think it’s a book that will appeal to many readers!

I checked out a copy of this book from my local library. I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

It’s a tale of missing persons! Madeleine and her mother have run away from their former, rich life, settling in the rainy town of Cambridge.

Across worlds, it seems, in Cello there are a few missing persons as well. Elliot is in search of his father hoping beyond hope that the Colors haven’t killed him.

When Madeleine and Elliot connect because of a gap–their worlds end up colliding in ways they never imagined. Both are in search of solving mysteries, and because of Issac Newton, a strange Butterfly Child, and color storms, the two end up helping each other and perhaps setting off on an adventure neither one planned.

5 Reasons Why This Book is Marvelous!

  1. What an absolutely original story! Rarely do I read a book I don’t like. But sometimes I feel like I’m reading the same sorts of stories over and over again–simply because stories often play off of each other. However, when I first read about A Corner of White my inner storyteller got extremely excited. I love discovering new worlds, and new magical fantasies that deal with a life so different from mine. Sure, I’m a huge fan of wizards and hobbits and faeries, but when something brand new hits the fantasy scene, my inner nerd is giddy!
  2. I admit, it took me several chapters to get into this story. I’m not sure if it is because the author is Australian and her writing style is different than what I am used too, or if it is simply because the book seems all over the place at first. I did have to adopt the “just keep reading” mentality before I really got into the story. Moriarty breaks the book up into two POV’s–Madeleine and Ethan and the worlds are England and Cello respectively. There is just so much going on in both places, and in both character’s minds that I had trouble piecing the two together. But eventually, the two crash together in a way that blew my mind. I love the concept of how Moriarty connected the two, and so as to not to give anything away, I just have to say, READ IT!
  3. A world where colors are a living, breathing thing and they, in fact, terrorize people. I am often amazed by the world around me–the beauty I find in little things, how bright the world seems at times. But I have no idea what I would do if the color from my flower garden suddenly burst into the air and affected me in some way. The imagination behind the story concept still sort of blows my own creative mind. I would have never thought about something that is so—everyday–and personified it. Moriarty’s imagination makes me so happy as a reader because it reminds me that there are still stories out there that can be created from the simplest aspects of life.
  4. As A Corner of White progresses, it sort of becomes a sad story, and though I hated the idea behind the sadness, it was what brought the whole of both worlds together. I can honestly say that I did not see anything coming in this book. Either I’m starting to slack off on my detective skills, or books lately are just all out surprising me! However, as per usual, I really enjoyed being surprised, and I like the little twist the book takes. You’ll understand when you read it, and best of all–it’s a series!
  5. Finally, I mentioned at the beginning that this could possibly (and most likely probably is in the blog world) be considered a YA book. However, Madeleine is 14 so in my eyes, that’s still middle grade territory. I think the magical realism element of this story will really draw in middle graders, but some of the content and what the story deals with on the adult end, could be more for YA-ers. Ultimately, I’m dubbing this read a crossover because I think it will definitely appeal to middle graders, but perhaps to those kids who still want to imagine a magical and fantastical world, yet read about some deeper issues. I think it’s a book that will find it’s place on my shelves no matter what grade I teach (6-12) because it’s a book that will encourage kids to imagine and to believe.

must-readBook Talk: Have you read A Corner of White yet? What did you think? More of a MG or YA read? Are you excited for the rest of the series?

Hopeful reading!

