Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to today’s Friday Follies!Ever since I was a kid, I have wanted to amble around this city. It’s the backdrop of movies. The setting for stories. And the city of my wildest dreams.
I almost moved here once. Almost. But instead of taking an internship, I traveled to Ireland. That was super life changing–but I still want to visit the city. Perhaps a train ride up there, or maybe, just maybe, BEA.

Desktop10Destination: New York City!

Travel plans via
Harriet the Spy | When You Reach Me | Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief |
From the Mixed Up Files of Ms. Basil E. Frankweiler | The Princess Diaries |
City of Bones

Travel buddies: I’d take my mother, and in spirit my Grandmother because I know she would have had a ball on Broadway!

New York City just seems like the epitome of adventure. After all, so many movies and stories take place in the city. I feel as if I could roam around for days, no plans, because something would be bound to happen to me. The stores, the food, the shows, and most of all the museums. Talk about a fabulous trip!

The Books

For some MG travel plans: Travel to the Upper East Side, though the lens of Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh. Harriet is an observer of the world, and writes down everything, so readers are bound to traipse though the city! Just be careful not to get caught by Harriet’s classmates! Or perhaps downtown is your favor? If so, be careful when you visit the Empire State Building or you might just find yourself jet setting off to Mount Olympus by way of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan! Those mythical gods just happened to find favor with the city.
I haven’t read it quite yet, by I hear When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead is a fabulous novel. After all, it is a Newberry Winner. Wrapped up in mystery, readers will travel all through Miranda’s neighborhood, and perhaps even other parts of the city.

For some YA travelers: Mia Thermopolis is an New York City girl through and through. But then, she finds out she’s princess of some far away country. Which just means that The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot provides readers with a royal tour of the city! Though City of Bones by Cassandra Clare offers an excellent tour of NYC, it’s the underground aspect of the city that leaves me wanting to visit!

This weekend, though, I’m reminiscing through From the Mixed up Files of Ms. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg. This was such a fun story of my childhood, and I often preteneded I was Claudia and my little brother was Jamie. We’d “run away from home” sometimes, and I always picked the fancy Metropolitan Museum of Art as our destination. I could lose myself for hours in paintings, still. Perhaps even one day I “run away” with my children and we’ll imagine ourselves lost in art.

Sights

(photos taken from Google images)

My very first stop in NYC would definitely be Serendipity 3 for a frozen hot chocolate and other delicious desserts. I have wanted to visit this place long before the movie with John Cusack made it famous. Serendipity (a fortunate accident) is my all-time favorite word, so of course I would have to stop by!

Then since I just have to go at Christmas time, I’d head over to Rockefeller Center to catch the lighting of the Christmas tree and a few loops around the ice rink.
And most likely stay through the New Year so I can see the ball drop!

My trip wouldn’t be complete without a few stops at Broadway. But out of all the shows playing, Phantom of the Opera is a must. It is the one show I dream about seeing on Broadway, and it would be the highlight of my visit!

Finally, what sort of NYC trip would it be if I didn’t visit the public library? Or the Statue of Liberty?
 

I’m sure there is a plethora of other places to visit–I mean, I didn’t even hint at the museums!–but these are the top of my list!

Book Talk: What about you…what are your must-sees in NYC? Have you read any of these stories? Do they transport you to the City?

Hopeful traveling!

