Tags

, , , , , ,

Collages2Author: T. R. Burns | Author Page
Release Date: August 6th, 2013
Publisher: Aladdin
Genre: Humor, Mystery, Adventure| Pages: 384

A couple of weeks ago, I came home from camp to this surprise

You have no idea how excited I have been to share its contents with you since then!! I previewed it on my newest Throwback Thursday, but today holds all the goodies.
I’m just going to warn you–I’ve been up to trouble-making with a capital T!

I was provided an ARC copy of this book from Simon and Schuster. I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

In the second installment of The Merits of Mischief series, Seamus Hinkle is back at Kilter Academy for his second semester of trouble-making. This time, the headmistress has entrusted him with a special assignment. So special that he has to keep it a secret from his friends!
But Seamus–as good as he is–has also come up with his very own mission. One that involves Lemon, Abe, Gabby, a cross-country mission, and a rescue. If they pull it off, they will definitely earn a load of demerits. Hopefully. But they also might discover a big secret the adults in their lives really want to keep quiet.

5 Reasons Why This Book is Marvelous!

  1. Ok–the number one reason why I love this book? Because it’s simply full of shenanigans! (Such a fun word!) And because I’m a believer that books can inspire life–they can inspire us to travel, to become a stronger hero/heroine, to create imaginary worlds, or to even chase our dreams! And this book…let’s just say it’s definitely inspiring. I’ve spent the last few weeks pulling some shenanigans myself!
    However, Captain Nosy wasn’t really having it!
    In fact, he even stuck his tongue out at me! I think that if Kilter Academy accepted animals for trouble-making, he would definitely make the cut! He’s obviously not afraid of spiders! But I don’t think fearlessness would be his talent!
  2. This time around in A World of Trouble, Seamus really focuses on his friendships. Granted, he goes about it in a weird way at times, being all secretive and such, but as readers hearing his thoughts, we understand just how much his friends mean to him. And I love that despite all of his trouble-making and all of his struggles,friends come first.
    Not so much in my book though—
    Saturday was my book club meeting, and I’m thinking I might have prepared in the wrong way.
  3. Who needs school work when there’s real world work to do? Sure, Seamus is a great trouble-maker, but sometime it’s not always on purpose. However, he’s a dedicated student, and I appreciate how hard-working he is. He makes a fabulous role model for MG readers, not only for that reason, but because he takes on other tasks just to help others out!
    But me–well, I’m a little more accident prone than dedicated.
    There just happened to be a freshly written paper with my hubster’s name all over it, and I might have tripped.
  4. One thing about being a trouble-maker, you’ve got to be sneaky. Seamus becomes a master during this installment. But you know, sometimes that sneakiness weighs on him especially if it involves half-truths or lying to his friends. On one hand he knows how important to troublemaking sneakiness it, but he often struggles with the moral dilemma. And I love that about him. Burns has created a fabulous concept with this story and the idea of troublemaking, I think, is a huge draw for MG readers. I mean, what kid doesn’t want to pull pranks or cause a little trouble now and then? But the genius part is that she sneaks in the moral aspects of trouble-making. Seamus truly struggles at times, and I like how the heart of his story roots back to the idea of good in the world. It’s a sneaky little way to get readers thinking!
    However–the whole sneaky thing? I don’t have a problem with it!
    He didn’t see me coming (or leaving!)
  5. Finally, as much as I’m falling in love with Seamus’s story I really didn’t want it to end, and I’m almost positive there’s going to be more trouble-making in the future! I honestly think this is a great series that needs to be written out in multiple stories. Once MG readers fall in love with Seamus and trouble-making, they are bound to come back for more!

Thank you so much to Simon and Schuster for some fun trouble-making toys! I had a blast with this series so far, and I highly recommend it! Perhaps I’ll even try hiding in plain sight this week, and pull a few pranks on strangers!

must-readBook Talk: Have you heard of A World of Trouble? Did you get a chance to read A Bad Apple? If so–what do you think this new installment has in store?

Hopeful reading!

