Tags

, ,

One of my favorite go-to teen book resources, Epic Reads, is celebrating Banned Books this week in a fabulous way!

Head over to their website and pick up a fabulous badge for your website, Twitter, Facebook to show your support!

Some may ask why it’s important to support banned books, and honestly, I think there are numerous reasons. But my main one? Because I don’t think it’s right to restrict teens  form reading. Sure, as a parent we may say “no, you can’t read that book right now” but I don’t think parents (or other adults for that matter) should limit other teens from reading a book.

I’m so blessed to have had parents who let me read whatever book I could get my hand on. And trust me—there was a time when I was sneaking around Judy Blume’s Forever in high school. I still don’t know how that one got through the circulation desk…

I believe in the power of story. And I believe that every teen should get the opportunity to read whatever book they pick up. We never know which one may change their life.

Book Talk: What books were/are banned or challenged in your high school? Did you find a way to pick them up? How will you support banned books?

Hopeful (banned) reading everyone!

