Tags

, ,

Just this week in my English methods courses, we’ve been talking about viewing literature through critical lenses, and challenging students to write about sensitive topics.

One of the big questions this week has been, if we censor books–how can we ever get teens (or others for that matter) to read the world through words?
I have HUGE ideas on both of these issues in the classroom–and I’m pretty sure I’m one of those divergent teachers, ready to risk my job in order to NOT censor books or students. But that’s another story for another day.

Today, School Library journal has a great roundup on censorship this week including blogs, interviews, news articles, and a great spotlight with YA author Lauren Myracle. Make sure to check it out!

Book Talk: What do you think–whose job is it to fight censorship? Libraries? Authors? Teachers? Parents? Readers? All of the above? Why?

weaponsHopeful (banned) reading everyone!

