Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hey ya’ll! Remember way back when I used to participate in The Broke and Bookish‘s awesome weekly Top Ten? Well, I did. (Tell me you remember my horrible doodle?)TopTenTues
But then I got super busy with classes and just didn’t have as much time for it because I was full of homework and reviews pending. I’m still super busy, and still full of reviews–but lately I haven’t been reading much (much YA for that matter, either) nor have I been blogging a lot. I’ve called it The Slump part deux and I think the best way for me to combat it is to get back to doing what I love–having fun with books by reading all sorts of them and then writing about them.

Besides, Top 10 lists are a super great way to expose books!

So, I’m not promising anything, but I’m going to try to get back on the band wagon!
I’m on campus today so don’t mind the lack of shiney/superfun graphics.  I’ll work up something for next week. Until then, here’s my Teen Read Week edition:

Top Ten (YA) Books I was “Forced” to Read
(by book club, school, other bloggers…)

For the love of fantasy—-

For the love of Sci-Fi / Time Travel / Pure Amazingness—-

For the love of Realism / Heart Wrenching Sobs—-

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (review): I saw this one on the shelf at the library after being repeatedly bombarded with it through some morning news show & NPR. It was the pick at the time I read it–and the picks don’t lie. It’s FABULOUS!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor (review): Did you really think I’d forget this one? Especially since I continue to rave about it? I actually put it down the first time I picked it up, having only made it about two chapters. But then a book lover friend of mine literally told me I had to give it a second try as my book life depended on it. She was right.

Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (review): This was an Epic Read’s book club pick last fall, and my love (obsession?) with all things Peter Pan forced me to pick up this novel. A well-made choice in my opinion as it now sits on my favorites list!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer: I still haven’t gotten around to reviewing this book from last Spring. But, it ended up being one of those fun reads I needed. Actually, it was the only YA audio book that looked remotely interesting when I picked it up in need of a listen for my commute. I had been hesitant as I’m not too fond of Cinderella stories–but the reader did such a fabulous job with this story, I was immersed from the beginning. I need the second one, like, NOW!

Tempest by Julie Cross: (review): Any time-travel is a “forced” read because it’s one of my favorite plot elements. Plus–the author of this novel is from around my parts so when my mom shared some encouragement about how Midwest writers can make it—I had to see what it was all about. It was a did not disappoint, for sure!

Archived by Victoria Schwab: Dead people archived in libraries? Um–sign me up? For the book I mean, not necessarily the passing on part. I follow the author on Twitter (because I had heard of her books) but then I felt like a fraud for following her and not having read her books. So, I put two and two together, and I’m pretty much hooked. I can’t wait to see what the rest of her stories have in store.

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein: It goes like this: “Honey, I know this isn’t YA, but have you heard of The Art of Racing in the Rain? You should really pick it up.” “Mom, I DO read other books besides YA.” “I know. I just thought I’d mention it in case you hadn’t heard of it. Plus, the narrator is a dog. It’s just something different.” “A dog? A cute, fuzzy one? I’m in.”
Or at least that’s how I remember the conversation going. Then I found the book at my library’s used book sale and figured the fates were telling me something. Now I’m telling you–it’s a sob-fest, but it’s a beautiful book. Beautiful.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart (review): I had to pick up this story for my YA Lit class last summer, and I’m so glad I did. I honestly don’t think I would have found this book otherwise. It’s fun, fabulous, and full of feminist undertones.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpaatrick (review): I ran into a teen friend of mine right as summer was starting, and she shoved this book into my hands (literally) telling me I had to read it ASAP. I did. I thanked her tremendously.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson (review): Oh wow. This was another forced into my hands read by my teen friend. After the fact of reading this story, I realized how much I needed it at the time. It’s another sobfest, but it’s beautiful.

Book Talk: What sort of books have been “forced” into your hands over the years that you’ve ended up enjoying?

Hopeful reading friends!

-Cait

