Tags

, , ,

Desktop13

Author: Roald Dahl  | Release Date: June 1st, 1988
Publisher: Penguin | Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale | Pages: 240

Lately, my MG lit has been restricted to books for class. I wasn’t able to order my books early because my prof didn’t post them–so I’m currently behind and reading one MG book a week for the class which has severely cut into my free reading time. But last week’s read was so fabulous I decided to feature it on here!

Plus, after reading about backlists over at Stacked, I realize that I am not guilty enough of reviewing old gems! So today is a backlist celebration day–25 years back to be exact. After all, every child needs to read Matilda!

I read this book from my own, personal library. I was not compensated in any way for my review (cross my heart) nor did I promise a good rating. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are 100% mine.

Summary

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she’s just a nuisance. She expects school to be different, but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a kid-hating terror of a headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull, she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It’ll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves, and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

-via book jacket

5 Reasons Why These Books Are Marvelous!

  1. It’s Matilda you guys! I mean–I’m sure you’ve seen the movie (which is quite a nice adaptation) but the book–OH the book! It’s marvelous in every aspect of being marvelous. Matilda is the kind of character you just want to scoop up and take out to ice cream. I mean, she was reading the classics by age four and three months. How could someone like me not love her!?!
  2. The story is fantastical in a sense, and Dahl’s imagination runs wild. There’s something about his words that not only grasp me as a reader–but they make me believe. Even if Matilda’s life is seemingly impossible–the thought the the story is never crosses my mind while I’m reading it.
  3. Every good story has to have a villain, and the Trunchbull is a perfect one! She’s scary enough to make me want to run and hide from her, yet I feel like she encourages me to be brave and stand up against her (or perhaps that’s from Matilda.) Either way–she makes the story interesting, as well as adds in part of the fantastical, while reminding me of all the teachers I had that I don’t want to be like.
  4. I didn’t realize it the first time I read this story, but now that I’m analyzing the novel for class, I’m seeing how Matilda is like a fairy tale. In the sense of fairy tales (which aren’t normally my favorite unless they’re gruesome,) Matilda has archetypal characters like villains and a jokester, there’s a ending that’s–let’s just say–expected, and above all, magic. In case you haven’t read the story for yourself, I’ll let you discover all of this goodness, and I’ll just tell you it’s a story that will not only warm your heart but hopefully encourage you in your endeavors.
  5. There’s a movie. I know, I know. That’s definitely not a reason to read a book (or at least some would say) but because I’m such a fan of books to movies, I encourage readers to pick up the novel then watch the screen version. I think it helps our analytical and critical thinking when we can compare and contrast the versions, and besides, sometimes it’s just fun to see the world someone else has created come alive!

must-readBook Talk: Have you ever read Matilda? If not, it’s one that you have GOT to put on your list. The book is just fabulous! If you have read it, what’s your favorite part? 

Hopeful reading!

