Tags

, , ,

T10T

This week’s top ten is a little less about the books, and more about the characters!
Guys–I’m excited about this list because I. Love. Names. I think it’s the writer thing in me and all the creativity that comes with character building. When that character is finally named–they’ve come alive.

I combined the two prompts today because not only are there characters whose names I love–but usually I’m a lover of unusual ones. I feel for my future children. They are going to have some weird names. Today’s prompt:

Top Ten (Unusual) Character Names I Love

10names

Of course there’s my favorite author…
Remy from Just Listen & Auden from Along for the Ride are my two favorite favorites from her. Though Sarah Dessen always comes up with great names. Or at least I always love them, especially the character she named after me (so I tell myself that….)

Today also  isn’t without some MG love…
I’ve always been an old soul– and names from the past, especially the 20’s through the 50’s are some of my favorites. Olive from The Shadows (Books of Elsewhere) by Jacqueline West & Violet from A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket are definitely names I would put on birth certificates for my daughters. I think these two characters wear their names well- they’re sort of old souls too.

Soli from Faerieground: Wish is just different. It’s of Spanish origin, and short for Marisol which I also love. Definitely a name in my character bank!

Karana from Island of the Blue Dolphins is a name I’ve always loved because it reminds me of my Grandmother Karen. It’s a beautiful variation and is ON my list for future children!

Then there’s the unusual…
Stargirl from Stargirl by Louis Sachar was definitely a persona I adopted in high school. In fact, when I turned sixteen my license plated said STR GRL 5 True story. I have them hanging up on my wall.

Karou from Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor has such a cool name AND she has teal hair. Yup. I’d be her.

Ariadne from Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan and Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini. I love this name because it’s rooted in Greek mythology which is fabulous! Plus, it’s so different and beautiful– and I’d totally call her Aria.

Eilonrwy from The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander is my new favorite name. It’s pronounced eye-LAHN-wee, and is actually a made up name by the author who used Welsh elements to create it. I’d name my daughter this, hands down, but then again, my baby name wish list is full of Celtic and weird Irish names. I’ll probably have to settle for naming a character this some day though– I can already hear the complaints about pronunciation.

And of course a bonus for the guys…
Étienne from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins I think I love his name so much because of my French Grandmother… Or because I imagine he’s cute.

Book Talk: What are some of your favorite names? Are you named after a literary character or have you/will you name your kids after one?

Hopeful reading friends!

signature.jpg

