Tags

, ,

TBT

I have sort of been bursting at the seems to share this story with you. Granted, I’m a little behind since it came out LAST YEAR–but that’s the fun of today’s feature. I actually bought the book the day it came out because I was so excited for it–but I hoarded it. I kept it’s beautiful shiney-ness on my shelf right where I could see it, waiting and waiting to read it because I didn’t want it to be over. Then, this summer I received an ARC copy of the second book and so I knew it was time to read Keeper. Oh. My. Goodness. I’m sort of kicking myself for waiting so long, yet at the same time I’m not. This book found me just when I needed it.

Throwback Thursday was born out of my ever growing review pile itself, and it’s a place where I can briefly introduce you to the first (or second or third) novel of a series and prep you for the awesomeness of the new book that’s coming out! (Not to be confused with my Sidekick Reviews.) I bought this book with my own hard-earned money, didn’t promise my fabulous compiments to anyone (cross my heart)and wasn’t compensated in any way for my review

Today’s Throwback is…..

Keeper of the Lost Cities|
By: Shannon Messenger |
Published: October 2nd, 2012 |
Publisher: Aladdin |
Genre | Age: Fantasy, Adventure, Mystery | MG|
Pages: 488|

Summary (via Goodreads)

“Twelve-year-old Sophie Foster has a secret. She’s a Telepath—someone who hears the thoughts of everyone around her. It’s a talent she’s never known how to explain.

Everything changes the day she meets Fitz, a mysterious boy who appears out of nowhere and also reads minds. She discovers there’s a place she does belong, and that staying with her family will place her in grave danger. In the blink of an eye, Sophie is forced to leave behind everything and start a new life in a place that is vastly different from anything she has ever known.

Sophie has new rules to learn and new skills to master, and not everyone is thrilled that she has come “home.”
There are secrets buried deep in Sophie’s memory—secrets about who she really is and why she was hidden among humans—that other people desperately want. Would even kill for. Sophie must figure out why she is the key to her brand-new world, before the wrong person finds the answer first.”

What you should know

  1. Awesomesauce. Simply awesomesauce. No, really. If you are in any way a fan of fantasy (think elves, magic, LOTR) then this is a book you MUST pick up. Messenger has not only built this imaginative and fabulous world, but it’s one I seriously want to escape too. Like, I would quit school if I could go to Foxfire. That’s what makes fabulous, marvelous, awesomesauce MG fantasy in my book. That desperate need to escape because the world itself is so real it swirls around you as your read.
  2. The story is fresh and different. Lots of times I feel that fantasies follow the same sort of arching pattern–and it’s totally true. There’s only so much to fantasy that isn’t the same book to book because it’s all archetypal. But Keeper just seemed different. Sure there were similar elements, and I could tell Messenger drew heavily on influence from other fantasy stories–but it wasn’t the same old story. Keeper is really fresh. It’s a new way to tell a story. It’s fantasy without being the same ‘ole fantasy. It’s her wonderful, creative imagination and I couldn’t put it down.
  3. Sophie is a great character. I found her full of strengths and weaknesses which made her all the more real for me. I can imagine that MG readers will connect with her very closely. I picked this up last month while going through a tough time in life (sadness over Captain Nosy) and it was a comforting read. Not only does Sophie struggle with loss, but it runs throughout the story letting readers understand they are not alone. It’s story that is powerful simply because it speaks to the heart of a reader–and that’s why I believe in it.

*Also—this was totally the first book I got author-graphed!  I didn’t get to meet her as it was through her blog, but I’m waiting for the day when she comes near me. She’s on the must-meet-because-I’ll-read-everything-you’ve-ever-written-list

tune In….

Tuesday October 29th for Keeper of the Lost Cities: Exhile

Book Talk: Have you had the chance to read Keeper yet? What do you think of the themes that run throughout?

Hopeful reading!

signature.jpg

